More Far North communities activated for TC Jasper hardship assistance

Published Sunday, 17 December, 2023 at 08:58 PM

Deputy Premier, Treasurer and Minister for Trade and Investment and Minister for State Development, Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning
The Honourable Cameron Dick

Personal Hardship Assistance has been extended to disaster impacted communities in five additional Far North Queensland Local Government Areas.

The entire LGAs of Cairns, Mareeba, Tablelands and Cassowary Coast, and select localities in Cook Shire will now also be eligible for assistance.

Residents can access grants of $180 for individuals and up to $900 for a family of five or more to cover the costs of essentials like food, clothing and medicine.

The Essential Services Safety and Reconnection Scheme is also available to eligible homeowners needing to reconnect electricity, gas, water or sewerage.

Eligible localities of Cook are Shipton Flat, Rossville, Ayton, Bloomfield, Laura, Lakeland, Oaky Creek, Helenvale, Mount Amos, and defined areas of Cooktown.

The Federal and Queensland Governments have now activated the jointly-funded Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA) for nine Far North councils in response to ex-Tropical Cyclone Jasper.

Quotes attributable to acting Federal Minister for Emergency Management Madeleine King:

“Personal Hardship Assistance provides a much-needed early helping hand to those affected, supporting people with their recovery,” Minister King said.

“The income-tested Essential Services Safety and Reconnection Scheme will act as a safety net for any uninsured homeowners.

“We’re also activating Cassowary Coast for counter disaster operations support and the reconstruction of essential public assets, so that Council can focus on their response and recovery.

“We continue to monitor the evolving flooding up north and will announce further assistance where required.”

Quotes attributable to Queensland Deputy Premier Cameron Dick:

“This is an unfolding emergency in our Far North.

“By extending DRFA support to more communities, we’re ensuring every person who needs help can get it.”

“Anyone requiring personal hardship payments or otherimmediate assistance can contact the Queensland Community Recovery Hotline on 1800 173 349.

“If you are battling this severe weather, please continue following the advice of emergency services and councils, and if it’s flooded, forget it.

“The safety and welfare of flood hit Queenslanders is our top priority right now.”


Media contacts:
Federal Minister for Emergency Management’s office: Tali Eley 0499 770 772
Deputy Premier: Geoff Breusch 0417 272 875