Premier announces 2024 Premier’s Anzac Prize recipients

Published Thursday, 30 November, 2023 at 11:01 AM


Premier and Minister for the Olympic and Paralympic Games
The Honourable Annastacia Palaszczuk

Minister for Education, Minister for Industrial Relations and Minister for Racing
The Honourable Grace Grace

  • Eight Queensland students and two teacher chaperones selected as the 2024 Premier’s Anzac Prize recipients.
  • Recipients will undertake an overseas tour to France, Belgium and the UK to explore the Anzac legacy.
  • The 2024 Prize is sponsored by RSL Queensland and is partnered with the State Library of Queensland.

Photos of the 2024 Premier’s Anzac Prize recipients are available here.

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk has today announced the eight recipients of the 2024 Premier’s Anzac Prize.

Recognising the efforts and dedication of young Queenslanders, eight students and two teacher chaperones from across the state will head to Europe next year, visiting WW1 and WW2 sites and attending the Anzac Dawn service at the Australian War Memorial in France.

An opportunity to gain an in-depth understanding of the Anzac legacy, the prize includes workshops in the months leading up to the once-in-a-lifetime adventure in collaboration with the State Library of Queensland. 

One hundred and thirty-six students have been awarded the prize since it began in 2013.

Quotes attributable to Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk:

"It's heart-warming to see how the Premier’s Anzac Prize continues to inspire Queensland's youth.

"The winning students and teachers will soon embark on a poignant journey to visit war memorial sites in Europe where they will have an unparalleled opportunity to deepen their understanding of Australia’s rich Anzac history.

“Experiencing these historical sites firsthand allows the students to immerse themselves in the Anzac tradition, and upon their return they serve as ambassadors for the Anzac legacy within their school communities."

Quotes attributable to Minister for Education Grace Grace:

“The strength of the applications received for this year’s prize show how many young Queenslanders have an interest in Australia’s Anzac legacy.

“Through the combination of travel and research, the successful recipients will be equipped with valuable knowledge and insights they’ll carry with them for life.

“I want to congratulate the eight students and two chaperones set to represent our state abroad, it is thoroughly deserved and I’m sure they will do a remarkable job.”

Quotes attributable to Assistant Minister to the Premier for Veterans' Affairs Bart Mellish:

“I chaperoned last year’s ANZAC Prize winners on their trip, and it was truly a magical experience.

“One of the most striking experiences was the dawn service at Villers-Bretonneux, a truly humbling event which also showed the deep bonds between Australians and the French people which go back over 100 years.

“This opportunity for young Queenslanders to learn and experience what our ANZACs went through all those years ago and become ambassadors of the ANZAC spirit on their return, really is once-in-a-lifetime.

“As Assistant Minister for Veterans’ Affairs and a strong advocate for honouring our vets, I’m proud to see the prize awarded for another year.”

Quotes attributable to RSL Queensland State President Major General Stephen Day DSC AM:

“It’s important that we pass on to young Australians the story of how veterans contributed to making Australia what it is today.”

“The Prize is an opportunity for some of our brightest high school students to get out of the classroom, travel to the Western Front and gain a more profound understanding of the commitment and sacrifices of their veterans.

“With the ANZAC Spirit forged more than a century ago, this unique pilgrimage provides students with a once-in-a-lifetime trip to learn how and why the ANZACs had such an impact on building the Australia they know today.”

Further information:

For a comprehensive overview of the Premier’s Anzac Prize, including videos, photo galleries and stories from previous tours, please visit

The 2024 Premier's Anzac Prize student recipients are:



Mansfield State High School (Brisbane)



Pimlico State High School (Townsville)


van Stom

Pimlico State High School (Townsville)



Ayr State High School (Ayr)



Brisbane Girls Grammar School (Brisbane)



All Hallows’ School (Brisbane)



St Monica’s College (Cairns)



St Joseph’s School (Stanthorpe)

The 2024 teacher chaperones are:



Urangan State High School (Hervey Bay)



All Hallows’ School (Brisbane)