Queensland Police officers appointed to commissioned ranks

Published Friday, 15 September, 2023 at 11:07 AM

Minister for Police and Corrective Services and Minister for Fire and Emergency Services
The Honourable Mark Ryan

  • Thirty police officers received their new appointments as commissioned officers
  • There are two new deputy commissioners and two new assistant commissioners
  • The appointees will be posted throughout the state and into various regions and commands

The Queensland Police Service (QPS) has celebrated the appointment of 30 commissioned officers today.

Officers at the rank of Inspector and above are classed as commissioned and are appointed by the Commissioner after demonstrating commitment to the Service through excellence in a range of operational and corporate fields within the organisation.

Some of these officers recognised today are newly appointed commissioned officers, and others are already commissioned officers and are taking up new promotions and opportunities. Shane Chelepy was appointed to the role of Deputy Commissioner, Disaster and Emergency Management while Cameron Harsley is now the Deputy Commissioner for Regional Services.

Christopher Jory was appointed Assistant Commissioner of the Domestic, Family Violence and Vulnerable Persons Command, and Matthew Vanderbyl was appointed Assistant Commissioner of the Organisational Capability Command.

Quotes attributable to Police Minister Mark Ryan:

“It is wonderful to congratulate these officers on their new appointments,” he said.

“It is important to acknowledge the many years of dedicated service these officers have already demonstrated to earn these appointments.

“Today’s appointments showcase the diverse skillsets and talents within the QPS, and I am confident the appointees will continue to strive for their best in their new roles.”

Quotes attributable to Commissioner Katarina Carroll:

“I’d like to acknowledge the many years of loyal and dedicated service given by these officers and the high standards of service, leadership and management in diverse postings and appointments across the state they have demonstrated,” she said.

“The officers here today are exemplars of the values of our organisation.

“They all bring years of invaluable experience to their positions.

“The appointment of these officers highlights the incredible breadth of leadership and talent within the QPS.

“I congratulate these officers and look forward to their continued support in ensuring that our professional standards and ethical practices are maintained at the highest levels.”

The following officers were appointed:

  • Deputy Commissioner Shane Chelepy, Disaster and Emergency Management
  • Deputy Commissioner Cameron Harsley, Regional Services
  • Assistant Commissioner Christopher Jory, Domestic, Family Violence and Vulnerable Persons Command
  • Assistant Commissioner Matthew Vanderbyl, Organisational Capability Command
  • Chief Superintendent Melissa Adams, South Eastern Region                   
  • Chief Superintendent David Cuskelly, Brisbane Region
  • Chief Superintendent John Hallam, North Coast Region
  • Chief Superintendent Marcus Hill, Operations Support Command
  • Chief Superintendent Chris Hodgman, Northern Region
  • Chief Superintendent Christopher Stream, Brisbane Region
  • Detective Superintendent Christopher Ahearn, Crime and Corruption Commission
  • Detective Superintendent Benjamin Fadian, North Coast Region
  • Superintendent Adam Guild, North Coast Region
  • Detective Superintendent Craig McGrath, Crime and Intelligence Command
  • Detective Superintendent Troy Pukallus, Crime and Intelligence Command
  • Superintendent Monique Ralph APM, Far North Region
  • Detective Superintendent Darrin Shadlow, Central Region
  • Detective Superintendent Sonia Smith APM, Far North/Northern Region
  • Detective Superintendent Leonie Steyger APM, Security and Counter Terrorism Command
  • Inspector Wayne Clayton, Brisbane Region
  • Inspector Marcus Cryer, Ethical Standards Command
  • Detective Inspector Mark D’Hage, Ethical Standards Command
  • Inspector Melissa Dwyer, Domestic, Family Violence and Vulnerable Persons Command
  • Inspector Tracey Hartley, Communications Culture and Engagement
  • Detective Inspector Christine Hinds, Ethical Standards Command
  • Inspector Christopher Pemberton, Brisbane Region
  • Inspector Michelle Piket, South Eastern Region
  • Inspector Garth Price, Southern Region
  • Inspector Tania Spiteri, Operations Support Command
  • Inspector Kate Teasdale APM, North Coast Region