State Government doubles public charging capabilities across Queensland

Published Thursday, 25 May, 2023 at 03:39 PM

Minister for Transport and Main Roads and Minister for Digital Services
The Honourable Mark Bailey

  • More than 30 towns in Queensland will benefit from 44 new EV charging infrastructure, almost doubling the capability of the Queensland Electric Super Highway
  • Made possible by a $10 million commitment to co-fund charging infrastructure as part of the government’s Zero Emissions Vehicle Strategy.
  • Companies including Evie Networks, ENGINE, NRMA, RACQ and Tesla will partner with government to deliver the sites.

Transport and Main Roads Minister Mark Bailey has today revealed the locations of 44 new EV chargers to be delivered around the state – almost doubling the number of government funded EV stations through the state.

The announcement comes as the state’s EV registrations soar over 20,000.

This infrastructure is made possible by the $10 million commitment from the Palaszczuk Government as part of the $55 million 10-year Zero Emission Vehicle Strategy.  

The five successful applicants of the co-fund are:

  • Fast Cities Australia Pty Ltd (Evie Networks)
  • IPAH Client Solutions Australia Pty Ltd (ENGIE)
  • National Roads and Motorist's Association (NRMA)
  • Royal Automobile Club of Queensland (RACQ)
  • Tesla Motors Australia Pty Ltd (Tesla)

These companies will match funding by the government to deliver the sites.

The new stations will increase reliability, reduce queuing, and ensure that EV drivers have confidence in road tripping through regional Queensland.

Since the first Super Highway site opened in 2017 there have been more than 106,000 charging sessions. This has removed approximately 2841 tonnes of CO2 emissions, the equivalent of 825 vehicles.

Construction is set to kick off over the next 18 months with the last charger expected to be up and running by the end of 2024.

Quotes attributable to Transport and Main Roads Minister Mark Bailey:

"This again reiterates the Palaszczuk Governments commitment to achieving net zero and our targets.

"Another $10 million to back up our EV transition, by investing in the infrastructure to support our State.

"This will nearly double the amount of Government funded charging sites, expanding the facilities into regional areas.

"By the time the new stations are up and running, our State will have one of the widest spread charging network in the country".

Quotes attributable to the Minister for Energy, Renewables and Hydrogen Mick de Brenni:

“The Palaszczuk Government is committed to helping more Queenslanders choose to make the switch to zero emissions vehicles, because they’re a great way to ease the cost of living pressures caused by petrol prices.

“Securing more chargers up and down Queensland means EV owners have even more opportunity to get out and explore all the beauty and wonder our great state has to offer.

“We’re backing quieter roads, less emissions, and cheaper motoring for Queenslanders, but most importantly, these cars are fuelled by energy made and owned by Queenslanders.”



Media contact:  Charlton Hart - 0400 431 443


Locations of fast chargers include:

  • Agnes Water*
  • Airlie Beach*
  • Alpha
  • Atherton
  • Biloela
  • Bowen
  • Bundaberg*
  • Cairns*
  • Calliope
  • Coochin Creek
  • Dalby*
  • Gayndah
  • Gladstone
  • Goomeri
  • Gympie
  • Hervey Bay*
  • Ingham*
  • Mackay*
  • Maroochydore
  • Maryborough
  • Mitchell Monto
  • Moranbah
  • Nanango
  • Ormeau
  • Palmview
  • Pentland
  • Rockhampton*
  • Toowoomba*
  • Townsville*
  • Tully
  • Warwick
  • Yandina


*These locations will feature multiple sites