Nominate a Queensland Great before it’s too late

Published Monday, 23 January, 2023 at 02:52 PM

Premier and Minister for the Olympic and Paralympic Games
The Honourable Annastacia Palaszczuk

There are only a few weeks left to recognise a Queenslander or Queensland-based organisation for their significant contribution to the Sunshine State and to nominate them for a Queensland Greats Award.

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk said the awards were an opportunity to honour Queensland’s homegrown heroes.

“This is an amazing opportunity to celebrate the people and organisations that make Queensland great through their commitment, courage and drive,” the Premier said.

“I encourage everyone to look around their communities and their workplace because Queenslanders are doing amazing things every day and deserve to be nominated for a Queensland Greats award.

“Since the awards’ inception 21 years ago, we have honoured 115 individuals, 18 institutions and 8 posthumous recipients as Queensland Greats across the fields of business, science, health, education, Indigenous affairs, sport, arts, conservation, community and philanthropy.

“Last year’s recipients included cricketer and youth and multicultural advocate Usman Khawaja, Queensland artist the late Mirdidingkingathi Juwarnda Sally Gabori, First Nations health and human rights advocate Professor Gracelyn Smallwood AM, and natural and cultural history institution the Queensland Museum Network.”

Usman Khawaja encouraged all Queenslanders to nominate the people who have helped make their state a brighter place to live, while reflecting on the achievements of those who were awarded before him.

“When you look at the awards’ history you see Greats such as Wayne Bennett, Wally Lewis, Clem Jones, Rod Laver, Greg Norman, and Allan Border, just to name a few. The list is inspiring, and I am honoured to be named alongside these Queensland legends,” Mr Khawaja said.

Nominations are open across three categories − Individual, Institution and Posthumous – and close at 5pm, Friday 17 February 2023.

Awards recipients will be announced in June 2023 and honoured with commemorative plaques displayed at Roma Street Parkland, Brisbane.

For more information about the Queensland Greats Awards and to submit a nomination for the 2023 Awards, visit


Media contact: Zoe Russell – 0439 982 347