New correctional officers improve community safety in Townsville

Published Friday, 16 September, 2022 at 11:30 AM

Minister for Police and Corrective Services and Minister for Fire and Emergency Services
The Honourable Mark Ryan

Queensland’s newest corrective services officers today move to the frontline of public safety in Townsville.

Eighteen new custodial correctional officers will be sworn into their roles at a Queensland Corrective Services’ graduation ceremony.

Member for Mundingburra Les Walker, representing the Minister for Fire and Emergency Services, and QCS Acting Assistant Commissioner Eloise Hamlett congratulated the graduates.

“Queensland Corrective Services is an essential part of our criminal justice system, delivering innovative, effective, evidence-based correctional services which contribute to a safer Queensland,” Mr Walker said.

“Correctional officers make public safety the priority every day, striving to ensure prisoners and offenders are less likely to return to crime.

“Every interaction they have is an opportunity to address offending behaviour and to improve the vocational and life skills of prisoners, assisting in their rehabilitation and reintegration back into the community.”

Acting Assistant Commissioner Hamlett said the new officers were ready to take on the many challenges of working in a correctional centre after successfully completing the paid 10-week Custodial Officer Entry Program.

“Our correctional officers are equipped with the highest level of training, skills and support to enable them to perform their roles safely and effectively,” Acting AC Hamlett said.

“We acknowledge their achievement and their commitment to model the key principles of the Corrections 2030 strategy - safety, respect, excellence, empowerment and accountability.”

The 18 graduating officers will be posted to the Townsville Correctional Complex.

The ceremony will also acknowledge some of QCS’ most experienced officers who are receiving Long Service and Good Conduct Medals.

Media contacts:

QCS Media: 3564 7824
Minister's office: 3035 8300