Queensland Police Service inducts 53 recruits into service

Published Thursday, 23 September, 2021 at 11:00 AM

Minister for Police and Corrective Services and Minister for Fire and Emergency Services
The Honourable Mark Ryan

Minister for Police and Corrective Services and Minister for Fire and Emergency Services the Honourable Mark Ryan MP today joined Commissioner Katarina Carroll to induct 53 recruits into the Queensland Police Service (QPS).

The induction, held at the Queensland Police Service Academy in Oxley, is an opportunity to celebrate the 53 recruits as they begin their careers with the QPS as First Year Constables (FYC).

The cohort has spent the past six months at the academy and will now undertake a further 12 months of station-based training as FYCs, which sees them assessed on their management of a range of real-world policing scenarios.

Many of these FYCs will be posted to stations around the state including Townsville, Mackay, Gold Coast and Logan.

Commissioner Carroll congratulated the FYCs on their graduation and thanked them for their commitment to their deployments across the state.

“The allocations are based on the requirements of the Service with 21 FYCs deployed to the South Eastern Region, eight to the Central Region, seven to the Northern Region, six to the Southern Region, four to the Brisbane Region, four to the Far Northern Region and three to the North Coast Region,” Commissioner Carroll said.

“From diverse career backgrounds including building services, personal trainers and butchers, we welcome this cohort into our service as they have proven they have the commitment and skills to graduate as an FYC.”

Minister Ryan congratulated the FYCs on their graduation from the Oxley Police Academy.

“These 53 recruits have made a commitment to protect and serve the people of Queensland with integrity, fairness, equity, professionalism and accountability.

“There is no doubt this will be a challenging yet fulfilling and rewarding career path the FYCs are embarking on today, filled with unlimited opportunity to positively affect the lives of the people they serve.”

The new FYCs will be initially deployed to the following areas:

Brisbane Region

North Brisbane District

Boondall Station 1

Sandgate Station 1

South Brisbane District                              

Redland Bay Station 1

Sherwood Station 1

Central Region 

Mackay District

Mackay Station 1

Bowen Station 1

Whitsunday Station 1

Capricornia District

Emerald Station 1

Rockhampton Station 1

Longreach Station 2

Wide Bay Burnett District

Maryborough Station 1

Far Northern Region 

Far North District

Innisfail Station 3

Mareeba Station 1

North Coast Region 

Moreton District

Burpengary Station 1

Caboolture Station 1

Mango Hills North Lakes Station 1

Northern Region

Townsville District

Kirwan Station 2

Stuart Station 1

Mundingburra Station 1

Townsville Station 1

Deeragun Station 2

South Eastern Region

Gold Coast District                          

Nerang Station 2

Surfers Paradise 1

Coomera Station 2

Southport Station 2

Broadbeach Station 2

Logan District                                               

Logan Central Station 3

Crestmead Station 3

Beaudesert Station 1

Loganholme Station 1

Browns Plains Station 2

Jimboomba Station 2

Southern Region

Ipswich District

Ipswich Station 1

Springfield Station 1

Goodna Station 1

Darling Downs District                                

Toowoomba Station 1

South West District 

Dalby Station 1

Roma Station 1

Media contacts 

Minister Ryan’s Office: Ph: (07) 3035 8300

Police Media: Ph: (07) 3015 2444