First Nations perspective from new Central West Hospital and Health Board member

Published Friday, 11 June, 2021 at 04:51 PM

Minister for Health and Ambulance Services
The Honourable Yvette D'Ath

An experienced director and chief executive officer of community-based health and welfare organisations has been appointed to the Central West Hospital and Health Board.

Health and Ambulance Services Minister Yvette D’Ath said new member Kieran Chilcott is currently the Chief Executive Officer of Aboriginal-controlled Kalwun Development Corporation Ltd.

“As well as his current role, Mr Chilcott has been a director or chair of a number of other organisations, including the Institute for Urban Indigenous Health, CheckUp Australia, the Gold Coast Primary Health Network, the Queensland Aboriginal and Islander Health Council and National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation Ltd, to name just a few,’’ she said.

“Mr Chilcott will bring strong managerial and directorial experience to the Central West Hospital and Health Board as well as a strong First Nations perspective.’’

Ms D’Ath said existing board members David Arnold, Elizabeth Fraser, Leisa Fraser, William Ringrose and Dr Clare Walker have been reappointed.

She said the board would continue to provide strong leadership in the delivery of health services across the Central West region under Chair Jane Williams.

“This is a diverse group of people with a range of backgrounds, experience and skills, working together to ensure the community is well represented in the health space,’’ she said.

“It’s a team that has served the Central West Hospital and Health Service and community extremely well and will continue to do so.

“I look forward to continuing to work with the board to ensure Queensland’s health system continues to thrive.”

The Central West Hospital and Health Board’s members are:

  • Ms Jane Williams (Chair)
  • Mr Kieran Chilcott
  • Dr Clare Walker
  • Mr David Arnold
  • Mr William Ringrose
  • Ms Elizabeth Fraser
  • Ms Leisa Fraser
  • Mr Blake Repine

The 16 boards throughout Queensland are responsible under the Hospital and Health Boards Act 2011 for local performance of their health service and the delivery of public health services within their communities.

Media contact: 3035 6100