Three new members on Torres and Cape Hospital and Health Board

Published Friday, 11 June, 2021 at 04:47 PM

Minister for Health and Ambulance Services
The Honourable Yvette D'Ath

Three new members have been appointed to the Torres and Cape Hospital and Health Board.

Health and Ambulance Services Minister Yvette D’Ath said Ms Marjorie Pagani, Ms Karyn Sam and Mr Darren Thamm would join the board.

Current board member Susan Hadfield has also been reappointed.

“The Torres and Cape Hospital and Health Board, under Board Chair Ella Kris, will continue to provide strong leadership and direction across the health service,’’ Ms D’Ath said.

She said new member Mr Thamm would bring strong accounting and auditing skills to the board.

“Mr Thamm is the Principal of Jessups BRI Ferrier and specialises in delivering audit and assurance services to not-for-profit and Indigenous organisations,’’ she said.

Ms D’Ath said Ms Pagani, is currently Chief Executive Officer, Director, Company Secretary and General Counsel of Angel Flight Australia.

“She is also a Director of the James Cook University Council and founding Director and Chair of Australian Farm Animal Rescue Matters Ltd.

Ms D’Ath said Ms Sam was a resident of Seisia in the Northern Peninsula Area with many years of management and executive leadership experience.

“She has been an executive board member of the NPA Family and Community Services and GEMNA ATSI Women’s Corporation,’’ she said.

“Between 2005 and 2018, Ms Sam was employed with the Torres and Cape Hospital and Health Service as the Northern Peninsula Area Primary Health Care Program Manager, so she is well familiar with the Torres and Cape region, its health challenges and issues.’’

Ms D’Ath said the Torres and Cape Hospital and Health Board comprised extensive experience in the fields of rural medicine, Indigenous health, economics, disability support, policy, accounting, project management and nursing.

“This is a diverse group of people with a range of backgrounds, experience and skills, working together to ensure the community is well represented in the health space,’’ she said.

“I look forward to continuing to work with the Board to ensure Queensland’s health system continues to thrive.”

The Torres and Cape Hospital and Health Board’s members are:

  • Ms Elthies (Ella) Kris (Chair)
  • Dr Scott Davis
  • Ms Karen (Kaz) Price
  • Ms Rhonda Shibasaki
  • Mrs Karen Dini-Paul
  • Ms Susan Hadfield
  • Mr Darren Thamm
  • Ms Marjorie Pagani
  • Ms Karyn Sam

The 16 boards throughout Queensland are responsible under the Hospital and Health Boards Act 2011 for local performance of their health service and the delivery of public health services within their communities.

Media contact:          3035 6100