West Moreton Hospital and Health Board to benefit from First Nations experience

Published Friday, 11 June, 2021 at 03:00 PM

Minister for Health and Ambulance Services
The Honourable Yvette D'Ath

A health professional who has dedicated her career to improving care for First Nations communities has been appointed to the West Moreton Hospital and Health Board.

Deanne Minniecon is the newest member of the ten-person board.

Current Chair Michael Willis and members Patricia Evatt, Sue Scheinpflug and Professor Gerald Holtmann have also been reappointed.

Minister for Health and Ambulance Services Yvette D’Ath said Ms Minniecon has a strong record in leading organisations.

“I’d like to welcome her to the West Moreton Hospital and Health Board,” she said.

“She is a civic-minded professional with a genuine interest in representing the interests of her region.

“Ms Minniecon has vast experience in health promotion and policy, with a focus on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities.

“She has also served on a number of boards including Wuchopperen Health Service, Mookai Rosie Bi-Byan and Yumpla Ltd, where she is currently a director. 

“We’re very fortunate to have Ms Minniecon join the board. I know that she will work hard to ensure West Moreton residents continue to receive excellent health services.”

West Moreton Hospital and Health Board’s members are:

  • Mr Michael Willis (Chair)
  • Ms Susan Johnson (Deputy Chair)
  • Ms Deanne Minniecon
  • Ms Patricia Evatt
  • Professor Gerald Holtmann
  • Ms Sue Scheinpflug
  • Ms Lynette Birnie
  • Professor Jeffrey Dunn AO
  • Dr Cathryn Hester
  • Mr Stephen Robertson

The 16 boards throughout Queensland are responsible under the Hospital and Health Boards Act 2011 for local performance of their health service and the delivery of public health services within their communities.

Media contact: 3035 6100