Published Friday, 19 February, 2021 at 12:32 PM

Minister for Police and Corrective Services and Minister for Fire and Emergency Services
The Honourable Mark Ryan

Disaster assistance has been extended to the local government areas of Cairns, Townsville and Pormpuraaw following ongoing impacts from ex-Tropical Cyclone Imogen.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-Queensland Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Minister for Emergency Management David Littleproud said North Queenslanders would continue to be supported in local recovery following the flooding brought on by ex-Tropical Cyclone Imogen.

“As the impacts of these floods expand, all levels of government are working together to ensure every available support and assistance is provided to affected communities,” Minister Littleproud said.

“Ex-Tropical Cyclone Imogen and the associated flooding have caused pothole and pavement damage to roads, damaged trees need to be removed and significant drainage clean-up is required as well.

“This assistance will fund the extensive work that needs to be done to repair the essential public infrastructure throughout the north, ultimately ensuring the community recovers more quickly.”

Queensland Acting Minister for Fire and Emergency Services Mark Furner said ex-Tropical Cyclone Imogen was one of six natural disasters to strike Queensland this disaster season.

“Queenslanders are a resilient lot and can put up with repeated disasters but it’s essential we provide support and assistance as quickly as we possibly can,” Minister Furner said.

“As the waters went down the true widespread impact of this severe weather system emerged.

“The floods have damaged essential public assets, such as roads and bridges, and there will be a great deal of clean up and repair work to deal with the effects of Imogen.

"This funding will help alleviate the cost of counter disaster operations including sand-bagging and tree clearing and the repair of essential public assets such as roads.

“The Commonwealth and Queensland governments will continue to work together to support the long-term recovery of all communities impacted by ex-Tropical Cyclone Imogen.”

DRFA assistance is now available in 18 local government areas in northern and far north Queensland in response to Cyclone Imogen: Burdekin, Burke, Cairns, Carpentaria, Cassowary Coast, Charters Towers, Cook, Croydon, Etheridge, Hinchinbrook, Kowanyama, Mareeba, Mornington, Palm Island, Pormpuraaw, Tablelands, Townsville and Whitsunday.

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at www.disasterassist.gov.au and the Queensland Reconstruction Authority’s website at www.qra.qld.gov.au.  

Minister Littleproud: Douglas Ferguson, 0455 448 985
Minister Furner: Phil Willmington, 0411 535 180