Assistant Ministers to further boost Queensland’s economic recovery

Published Thursday, 12 November, 2020 at 11:58 AM

Premier and Minister for Trade
The Honourable Annastacia Palaszczuk

Assistant Ministers will strengthen Queensland’s ongoing recovery and growth following the COVID-19 pandemic, with a particular focus on the Palaszczuk Government’s fresh priorities for the next term.

COVID Economic Recovery, Health Infrastructure, Hydrogen, Renewable Energy and local Train Manufacturing are among the important areas of focus for the assistant ministry.

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk said the appointments will also recognise the vital role of Queensland’s regions.

“Assistant Ministers come from regions stretching from the Far North to Ipswich,” Ms Palaszczuk said.

“They will work with my new Ministers to ensure that every aspect of Government endeavour is comprehensively addressed, especially our health and economic response to COVID.

“Bart Mellish will be my Assistant Minister, with COVID Economic Recovery among his responsibilities, while Charis Mullen will be Assistant Minister for Treasury and Julieanne Gilbert will focus on Health Infrastructure.

“Regional issues will be front of mind for Nikki Boyd as Assistant Minister for Local Government.

“As key areas of Queensland’s future growth, the Education and Tourism portfolios will be assisted by Brittany Lauga and Michael Healy.

“The appointment of Bruce Saunders as Assistant Minister for Train Manufacturing reflects our election commitment to bring local train building back to Maryborough.

“And Lance McCallum will help ensure that our increasing focus on Hydrogen as a fuel of the future gets the backing it needs as we work towards 50 per cent renewable energy by 2030.”



Bart Mellish, Member for Aspley

Assistant Minister to the Premier for Veterans’ Affairs, Trade and COVID Economic Recovery

Nikki Boyd, Member for Pine Rivers

Assistant Minister for Local Government

Charis Mullen, Member for Jordan

Assistant Minister for Treasury

Brittany Lauga, Member for Keppel  

Assistant Minister for Education

Julieanne Gilbert, Member for Mackay

Assistant Minister for Health Infrastructure

Bruce Saunders, Member for Maryborough

Assistant Minister for Train Manufacturing and Regional Roads

Lance McCallum, Member for Bundamba

Assistant Minister for Hydrogen Development and the 50% Renewable Energy Target by 2030

Michael Healy, Member for Cairns

Assistant Minister for Tourism Industry Development