New judges appointed to District Court

Published Thursday, 27 August, 2020 at 01:35 PM

Attorney-General and Minister for Justice
The Honourable Yvette D'Ath

Attorney-General and Minister for Justice Yvette D’Ath has announced the appointment of three new judges to the District Court.

The new appointments are:

  • Geraldine Dann (Southport District Court, commencing 7 September)
  • Rowan Jackson QC (Southport District Court, commencing 31 August)
  • Jeffrey Clarke (Rockhampton District Court, commencing 31 August)

“Geraldine Dann has almost three decades experience in private legal practice, having practised as both a solicitor and barrister,” the Attorney-General said.

“She was called to the bar in 2008 and practised in a wide array of legal fields including safety, industrial, employment, contract and regulatory law.

“Previously, she practised for almost two decades as a solicitor including five years in commercial law practice and seven years at Herbert Smith Freehills.

“Rowan Jackson QC commenced practice as a barrister in 1998 and took silk in 2015.

“His broad commercial practice included commercial, contract, insurance, professional negligence, property, disciplinary matters and corporations matters.

“He has appeared in a broad range of commercial matters in most courts and tribunals as well as in private arbitrations and expert determinations.

“Jeffrey Clarke has served as a Magistrate in Rockhampton and has been a Magistrate since 2015.

“He was called to the bar in 1995, his practice focusing mainly on criminal matters in the District and Supreme Courts.

“He has also acted in personal injury claims, appeals and judicial reviews and is a Past President of the Victims of Crime Association – Central Queensland.

“These three new appointments to the District Court are outstanding legal practitioners who are well respected in Queensland’s legal profession.

“I wish all three new appointments the best in their new roles.”

Media contact: Martin Philip 0407 675 008