New Magistrates appointed

Published Thursday, 09 July, 2020 at 03:25 PM

Attorney-General and Minister for Justice
The Honourable Yvette D'Ath

Attorney-General and Minister for Justice Yvette D’Ath has announced the appointment of three new magistrates for Queensland.

The Attorney-General said the Judicial Appointments Advisory Panel, which includes the Queensland Law Society and the Bar Association of Queensland, supports the appointments.

The new magistrates are:

  • Kenneth Taylor (appointed to Townsville Magistrates Court)
  • Grace Kahlert (appointed to Southport Magistrates Court)
  • Kathleen Payne (appointed to Southport Magistrates Court)

“Kenneth Taylor is one of Townsville’s most experienced and respected solicitors,” the Attorney General said.

“He’s built his own successful legal practice and is well-known to the Queensland legal profession as a previous President of the Queensland Law Society.

“As a previous Acting Magistrate and Judicial Registrar, Grace Kahlert brings a wealth of experience to the role.

“Ms Kahlert has also worked in private practice and for Crown Law and the then Anti-Discrimination Tribunal Queensland.

“Kathleen Payne is a highly experienced barrister with almost a decade’s experience at the private bar.

“She has also served as a Crown Prosecutor in the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions and is well-respected within the legal profession.

“I congratulate the new appointees and wish them well in their new roles.”

The new magistrates commence their positions on 13 July.

Media contact: Martin Philip 0407 675 008