Awards to recognise leaders in Queensland agriculture

Published Friday, 12 June, 2020 at 03:39 PM

Minister for Agricultural Industry Development and Fisheries
The Honourable Mark Furner

Passionate innovators and key influencers in the agricultural sector will once again be recognised through the Peter Kenny Medal and the Minister’s Emerging Leader Award.

Minister for Agricultural Industry Development and Fisheries Mark Furner said these awards were a way of identifying and supporting innovators and leaders in the sector.

“As with previous years, we are inviting nominations of those who have made outstanding contributions to an even better future in Queensland agriculture, fisheries or forestry,” Mr Furner said.

“The Peter Kenny Medal, with its prize money of $3000, is for innovation leading to profitability and sustainability.

“We all remember Mr Kenny as a passionate advocate for agriculture, rural education and regional communities in our state.

“As a teacher working in rural Queensland, and an agricultural entrepreneur, he was a champion for educating new generations of producers.

“With that legacy in mind, we are encouraging applicants for the Peter Kenny Medal who are involved in agriculture, fisheries or forestry.

“Candidates could work in agribusiness, education, farm-based production, the supply chain, research or advocacy, or an associated field.”

Mr Furner said the other award was the Minister’s Emerging Leader Award.

“This is in recognition of those individuals who show outstanding leadership, or the potential to make a significant contribution to their field of interest, the wider industry and the rural community,” he said.

“Influential young leaders represent the future of agriculture in Queensland. Candidates must be aged 18 to 35 to be eligible for the prize purse of $3,000, which will go towards further developing their career and leadership skills.

“These awards are another demonstration of the Palaszczuk Government’s commitment to leadership and innovation in the agricultural sector.”

Mr Furner said nominations for both awards open on 12 June and close 20 July, with winners to be announced at a later date to be confirmed.

Further information is available at


Media contact:          Ron Goodman            0427 781 920