Five Queensland Police Officers awarded for bravery in the field

Published Tuesday, 31 March, 2020 at 03:40 PM

Minister for Police and Minister for Corrective Services
The Honourable Mark Ryan

Minister for Police and Minister for Corrective Services, the Honourable Mark Ryan MP, and Commissioner Katarina Carroll have congratulated the Queensland Police Service (QPS) Officers who received Australian Bravery Decorations in honour of their heroic efforts. 

A total of five officers have received medals and citations as part of the Australian Bravery Decorations, announced by the Governor-General, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd).

The awards honour those across Australia for their selfless actions in times of danger and threat, celebrating their bravery and the example they set. 

Commissioner Carroll said the QPS recipients of the Bravery Medals had shown great bravery in the face of extreme danger. 

“Senior Sergeant Bradyn Murphy from the Gold Coast District Road Policing Unit has been recognised for his actions during the apprehension of two armed offenders following a high-speed vehicle pursuit near Tweed Heads in New South Wales on February 5, 2015,” Commissioner Carroll said. 

“Constable Matthew Woodham from Mundingburra Police Station has been recognised for his considerable bravery during the rescue of an elderly couple from a burning house in Mundingburra, Queensland on May 22, 2018. 

“On behalf of the Queensland Police Service, I thank all of the officers awarded today for their dedication to not only their roles, but the community as well.

“We are proud to say that each of the QPS recipients have represented the Service with honour, showcasing their willingness to help others through their selfless acts.”

Minister Ryan paid tribute to those officers who received Group Bravery Citations. 

“Constable Jeremy Gardiol from Gympie Police Station has been recognised for his actions during the rescue of a man from a burning vehicle at Gympie in Queensland on June 6, 2018,” Minister Ryan said.

“Along with Senior Sergeant Bradyn Murphy from the Gold Coast District Road Policing Unit, Senior Constable Luke Davies from the Gold Coast District Criminal Investigation Branch (Southern) and Constable Matthew Siddall from Coolangatta Police Station all received Group Bravery Citations along with several New South Wales Police Force officers, for their actions during the apprehension of two armed offenders on February 5, 2015. 

“The actions of these officers are an inspiration for frontline officers across the QPS, as they have embodied the values that all emergency services demonstrate every day, putting themselves on the line to protect their fellow Queenslanders and Australians. 

“Congratulations to all those who have received awards,” Minister Ryan said. 

Media contacts 

Minister Ryan’s Office: Ph: (07) 3035 8300

Police Media: Ph: (07) 3015 2444