Disaster Assistance for Communities Impacted by Tropical Cyclone Esther in Queensland

Published Friday, 20 March, 2020 at 02:21 PM

Minister for Fire and Emergency Services
The Honourable Craig Crawford

Disaster assistance is now available to three local councils in regional and remote Queensland impacted by Tropical Cyclone Esther.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA) in Bullo and Diamantina Shire Councils in the state’s south-west, and Mornington Shire Council in the Gulf of Carpentaria.

Minister for Emergency Management David Littleproud said this assistance will provide financial support for clean-up and recovery in these flood-affected areas.

“Tropical Cyclone Esther made landfall close to Mornington Island on 24 February 2020, bringing heavy rainfall and flash flooding,” Mr Littleproud said.

“The cyclone continued to track southward cutting roads and isolating residents in South West Queensland including Bullo and Diamantina shires, and the Northern Territory.

“Today’s announcement will ensure these flood and cyclone affected communities get back on their feet sooner.” Queensland Minister for Fire and Emergency Services Craig Crawford said the funding will assist the councils with restoring damaged public infrastructure and alleviate the financial burden of counter disaster operations such as debris clearing.

“While the widespread rain is welcome for many in some of these drought declared shires, the destruction that comes with cyclones and flooding is a headache no one needs in these trying times,” Mr Crawford said.

“It’s important the impacted local councils know that the Commonwealth and State Governments are there to support their clean-up efforts and ensure a smooth recovery from the floods associated with Tropical Cyclone Esther.”

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at www.disasterassist.gov.au and the Queensland Government’s Disaster Management website at www.disaster.qld.gov.au.

Minister Littleproud: Douglas Ferguson, 0455 448 985

Minister Crawford: Hope Fabillar, 0428 343 432