A swearing in to remember for 34 new officers

Published Thursday, 07 November, 2019 at 05:30 PM

Acting Minister for Police and Minister for Corrective Services
The Honourable Dr Anthony Lynham

Commissioner Katarina Carroll welcomed and witnessed the swearing in of a new cohort of police officers at a graduation ceremony at the Queensland Police Service Academy in Oxley today.

Acting Minister for Police and Minister for Corrective Services, the Honourable Dr Anthony Lynham MP, was also in attendance as the 34 new officers took part in their official swearing in ceremony.

The ceremony marked the end of a 25-week period of intensive training to ultimately prepare the now First Year Constables (FYCs) for their new roles as general duties police officers.

After coming from a diverse range of career and cultural backgrounds, the recruiting program has given these FYCs the strong foundation to enable them to deliver an excellent level of service.

In participating in the program and its associated training scenarios, the 34 new FYCs can start their first shifts in operational roles with their policing skills at a necessary level to ensure their own and the community’s safety whilst working alongside and under the supervision of experienced officers.

Commissioner Carroll congratulated the FYCs on their graduation and wished them well in their first year as sworn officers.

“To make it to this point after your induction program shows the commitment each one of the now First Year Constable’s have made to not only learn and grow in a new career, but to also serve and protect those living around them,” Commissioner Carroll said.

“I urge each of the First Year Constables to continue their journey, continue to learn and to embrace the next year in their new careers.

“I have no doubt that it will be tough and a real challenge as all of our first years were, but I hope it will be rewarding, eye opening and a further reassurance of their new commitment to what they do.

“Congratulations to all on their graduation and I hope they enjoy the rest of the day with friends, family and fellow First Year Constables.”

Acting Police Minister, Dr Anthony Lynham, said the new recruits were stepping into a unique role.

“The role of a police officer is like no other,” Acting Minister Lynham said.

“Each of these new First Year Constables are now responsible for the safety and security of the people of Queensland.

“They will assist in creating a safe environment for not only Queensland residents, but also visitors whilst working in partnership with local communities and other government agencies around the state.

“With the education and support services provided by the QPS People Capability Command, the 34 new FYCs will bring a fresh perspective to the Service.

“They are now part of the huge organisation that is the Queensland Police Service, and I wish each and every one of them the best of luck.”

The new FYCs will be initially deployed to the following areas:


North Brisbane District

            Stafford Station 1

            City Station 2                                   

South Brisbane District

            Inala Station 1                     

            Upper Mt Gravatt Station 1

            West End Station 1             


Logan District

            Beenleigh Station 2            

            Springwood Station 1                     

            Loganholme Station 1                     

Gold Coast District

            Southport Station 2

            Broadbeach Station 1                                 

            Nerang Station 1  


Mackay District

            Mackay Station 2

            Bowen Station 1

            Sarina Station 1

            Moranbah Station 1


Moreton District

            Bribie Island Station 1                                             

            Deception Bay Station 1

            Caboolture Station 2           

            Redcliffe Station 1

Ipswich District

            Goodna Station 1                

            Yamanto Station 1                                                  

            Springfield Station 1

            Booval Station 1


Townsville District

            Kirwan Station 1

            Townsville Station 1

            Mundingburra Station 2

Far North District

            Mareeba Station 1

            Atherton Station 1


Media contacts

Police Minister's Office: Ph: (07) 3035 8300

Police Media: Ph: (07) 3015 2444