Interim Management Committee starts work at Logan City Council

Published Friday, 14 June, 2019 at 08:00 AM

Minister for Local Government, Minister for Racing and Minister for Multicultural Affairs
The Honourable Stirling Hinchliffe

An Interim Management Committee (IMC) consisting of six members will start work today at Logan City Council to support the Interim Administrator Tamara O’Shea in ensuring good governance and integrity for the people of Logan.

Minister for Local Government Stirling Hinchliffe said the six appointees on IMC will provide a breadth of support and advice to Ms O’Shea.

“As I flagged when the Logan City Council was dismissed on 2 May the four non-suspended former councillors - Lisa Bradley, Laurie Koranski, Darren Power and Jon Raven – have been appointed to the Committee, “ Mr Hinchliffe said.

“In addition, Mr Gary Kellar has also been appointed and brings more than 40 years’ experience in local government to the Committee including 26 years as Chief Executive Officer of Logan City Council.

“Mr Brent Lillywhite, a planning and environment lawyers, completes the appointees to the Committee and will bring specialist expert advice around complex planning matters,” he said.

Ms O’Shea said she is eager to meet with the newly appointed IMC this morning.

“I am looking forward to working with the Committee to achieve the best long-term interests of the City of Logan,” Ms O’Shea said.

“I have publicly committed to three key objectives – continuity of service, stable leadership and good governance – principles that will ensure a strong foundation for the transition to a new Council in 2020.

“We have a significant volume of work to progress over the coming months and the Committee will play an important role in supporting me to deliver on these outcomes,” she said.

Logan City Council Interim Management Committee - Biographies

Lisa Bradley – former Division 1 Councillor first elected to Logan City Council in 2008.

Laurie Koranski – former Division 4 Councillor first elected to Logan City Council in 2016.

Darren Power – former Division 10 Councillor first elected to Logan City Council in 1997.

Jon Raven – former Division 5 Councillor first elected to Logan City Council in 2016.

Gary Kellar – served as Logan City Council Chief Executive Officer from 1979-2005, and more recently Acting Chief Executive Officer Ipswich City Council October 2017 – May 2018.

Brent Lillywhite – partner at Corrs Chambers Westgarth lawyers with experience in land resumptions, statutory valuation, planning scheme drafting, corporate governance and judicial review.

Media Contact: 0428 510 973