Disaster assistance extended to include Burke Shire Council

Published Monday, 11 February, 2019 at 04:54 PM

Minister for Fire and Emergency Services
The Honourable Craig Crawford

Disaster assistance has been extended to Burke Shire Council as the full extent of devastation caused by the Queensland floods continues to be realised.  

Assistant Minister for Home Affairs Senator the Hon. Linda Reynolds and Queensland Fire and Emergency Services Minister Craig Crawford said the assistance was being provided through the jointly-funded Commonwealth-Queensland Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Assistant Minister Reynolds, who has responsibility for Commonwealth disaster assistance, said Queenslanders would continue to be supported in response to the unprecedented flooding.

“It’s important that all levels of government work together in what will be a long road to recovery for the many Queenslanders who have been affected by these floods,” she said.

“The impact of the floods is wide reaching and Burke Shire Council is now the twenty-ninth council to be activated for assistance.

“Through the DRFA, Burke Shire Council can now access assistance to help alleviate operational costs and assist with the cost of clean-up and repairs.”

Mr Crawford said the size and scale of the event could take months to be fully realised.  

“This has been a devastating and heart-breaking flood for many Queensland communities,” Mr Crawford said.

“It’s essential that we provide support and assistance as quickly as we possibly can.

“There is still flooding continuing in parts of the state so we are continuing to monitor the situation and will work closely with the Commonwealth to provide extra help as information comes to hand.”

A range of DRFA assistance is now available in 29 local government areas in northern and western Queensland: Barcoo, Boulia, Burdekin, Burke, Cairns, Carpentaria, Charters Towers, Cloncurry, Cook, Croydon, Douglas, Etheridge, Flinders, Hinchinbrook, Hope Vale, Lockhart River, Longreach, Mackay, Mareeba, McKinlay, Mornington, Mount Isa, Palm Island, Richmond, Townsville, Whitsunday, Winton, Wujal Wujal and Yarrabah.

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Queensland Government’s Disaster Management website at www.disaster.qld.gov.au and on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at www.disasterassist.gov.au.  

Media contacts:

Nicky Hamer 0466 535 875 (Assistant Minister Reynolds)

Bernadette Condren 0417 296 116 (Minister Crawford)