Further disaster assistance for Queensland communities

Published Wednesday, 06 February, 2019 at 05:25 PM

Minister for Fire and Emergency Services
The Honourable Craig Crawford

The North Queensland monsoon trough continues to cause major and widespread flooding across parts of the state, prompting the further expansion of disaster assistance for the impacted local government areas of Carpentaria, Mornington, Winton and Yarrabah.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-Queensland Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA) and is in addition to the assistance already activated for North and Far North Queensland.

Assistant Minister for Home Affairs Senator the Hon. Linda Reynolds, who has responsibility for Commonwealth disaster assistance, said the size and scale of the flood is unprecedented and more Queensland towns and regions are dealing with the impacts.

“The Commonwealth and Queensland governments remain committed to supporting affected communities and this latest extension now provides assistance to 20 local government areas,” Assistant Minister Reynolds said.

“Through the DRFA, assistance is now available to Carpentaria, Mornington, Winton and Yarrabah councils to help assist with the cost of clean-up and repairs.

“In addition, Townsville City Council residents that have been without essential services such as electricity, gas, water or sewerage for more than five days are now able to access essential services hardship assistance grants.”

Queensland Minister for Fire and Emergency Services Craig Crawford praised the work of the frontline response to the floods and said all levels of government were working to ensure communities get the help they need.

“This monsoon trough is refusing to budge and has combined with a slow-moving tropical low, to create this unprecedented event,” Minister Crawford said.

“We don’t appear to be out of the woods yet but this assistance will ensure that additional communities receive the assistance they need as this event continues.

“I urge anyone who may be impacted by this event to prepare to leave, listen to authorities, follow any of their instructions, and take appropriate action to ensure the safety of your family.”

A range of DRFA assistance is now available in 20 local council areas in Queensland: Burdekin, Cairns, Carpentaria, Charters Towers, Cloncurry, Cook, Croydon, Douglas, Etheridge, Hinchinbrook, Hope Vale, McKinlay, Mornington, Palm Island, Richmond, Townsville, Whitsunday, Winton, Wujal Wujal and Yarrabah.

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at www.disasterassist.gov.au and the Queensland Government’s Disaster Management website at www.disaster.qld.gov.au.  

Media contacts:

Nicky Hamer 0437 989 927 (Assistant Minister Reynolds)

Kerryn Manifold 0428 510 973 (Minister Crawford)