Schools shine at the 2018 Showcase Awards

Published Friday, 26 October, 2018 at 10:01 PM

Minister for Education and Minister for Industrial Relations
The Honourable Grace Grace

The best educators from Queensland state schools have been recognised at the 19th annual Showcase Awards for Excellence in Schools in Brisbane tonight.

Education Minister Grace Grace congratulated the 11 award winners who demonstrated their contribution to improving educational outcomes for students through innovative programs, leadership and education support.

“The Showcase Awards are Queensland’s most prestigious education awards, recognising excellence in teaching practice in our state schools, as well as celebrating and rewarding the role of our teachers and principals,” Ms Grace said.

“The awards program highlights the high quality of education available to students in Queensland’s state education system.”

“Our schools and teachers are committed to achieving outstanding education outcomes, and are continually searching for new ways to engage and educate young Queenslanders,” Ms Grace said.

“Education programs aimed at improving science, technology engineering and mathematics (STEM) education outcomes featured heavily in this year’s nominations.

“It is great to see so many schools creating STEM-specific programs and tailored curriculum resources. STEM subjects are vitally important for students moving into the rapidly expanding and fiercely competitive global digital economy.”

Showcase Awards recipients share in more than $540,000 in development grants. 

The awards, the penultimate event of State Education Week, were presented at a gala dinner in Brisbane on the same day Queensland celebrates World Teachers’ Day.

“The Showcase Awards organisers received more than 120 submissions reaching more than 80,000 students across Queensland,” said Ms Grace.

“These winners and finalists can be proud of their achievements and the positive impact they’re having on the state’s education system.

Ms Grace acknowledged the ongoing support of the Showcase Awards sponsors.

“We are grateful for the wonderful support provided by our program sponsors. Partnerships like these are integral to the ongoing success of the awards,” she said.

This year’s sponsors include: Education Queensland International, Griffith University, Network Ten, RemServ, QSuper, QUT, Queensland Teachers’ Union, Teachers Health, Teachers Mutual Bank, and the University of Southern Queensland.

A list of award winners follows. Full awards details can be located at


Media contact: Scott Chandler – 0439 587 472


2018 Showcase Awards for Excellence in Schools state winners list:


Award: The Network Ten Showcase Award for Excellence in the Early and Primary Years

Winner: Durack State School, Project to practice


Award: The QSuper Showcase Award for Excellence in the Secondary Years

Winner: Goondiwindi State High School, How do we make the teaching of writing everyone's responsibility?


Award: The QUT Showcase Award for Excellence in Inclusive Education

Winner:Nambour Special School, Lifting literacy for every learner!


Award: The RemServ Showcase Award for Excellence in Community Engagement

Winner: Mount Molloy State School, Growing our community


Award: The Showcase Award for Excellence in Industry Partnerships

Winner: Thuringowa State High School, Advancing education for a global tropics future


Award: The Education Queensland International Showcase Award for Excellence in Global Engagement

Winner: Sunshine Beach State High School, Creating global citizens

Award: The Queensland Teachers’ Union Showcase Award for Excellence in Indigenous Education

Winner: Balaclava State School, Highway to success through A,B,Cs – Indigenous kids striving for positive futures


Award: The University of Southern Queensland Showcase Award for Excellence in Rural and Remote Education

Winner: Dalby State High School, Bunya Campus – Creating rural futures

Award: The Teachers Health Showcase Award for Teacher of the Year

Winner: Carly Sopronick, Atherton State High School


Award: The Griffith University Jack Pizzey Award for Principal of the Year

Winner:Yolanda Tognini, Wishart State School


Award: The Teachers Mutual Bank Showcase Award for State School of the Year

Winner:Woree State School, We discover, strive and shine!