New Commissioners for ECQ and ADCQ

Published Thursday, 06 September, 2018 at 10:00 AM

Attorney-General and Minister for Justice
The Honourable Yvette D'Ath

Attorney-General and Minister for Justice Yvette D’Ath has announced two significant appointments for key agencies, subject to the Governor’s approval today.

Pat Vidgen will be Electoral Commissioner for the Electoral Commission of Queensland.

And Scott McDougall will be Queensland’s new Anti-Discrimination Commissioner.

“These positions play important independent roles in our modern, open Queensland system of government,” Mrs D’Ath said.

Pat Vidgen has been Acting Electoral Commissioner since May 2018. He has most recently worked with the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games Corporation. He has 28 years’ experience working in the Queensland Public Sector and a wide range of senior executive roles.

“Mr Vidgen brings to ECQ a wealth of knowledge and leadership experience, and I thank him for taking on this crucial role on a permanent basis,” Mrs D’Ath said. 

I’d also like to thank ECQ staff for their continued dedication and commitment in delivering such an important, independent service to our community and our system of Government in Queensland,” Mrs D’Ath said.

Scott McDougall is currently Director and Principal Lawyer at Brisbane’s Caxton Legal Centre.  

He is also a member of the Queensland Law Society Access to Justice Committee; Griffith University Law School Visiting Committee; University of Queensland Pro Bono Centre Advisory Board; Legal Aid Queensland First Nations Advisory Committee and Founding Director of Elder Abuse Action Australia.

“Mr McDougall takes on an extremely important role – the Anti-Discrimination Commission plays a key role in our vision for a fair and inclusive Queensland,” Mrs D’Ath said.

“We must remain vigilant about the threat of discrimination and harassment in our daily lives and in our workplaces.

“Mr McDougall will play a key role in promoting the understanding, acceptance and public discussion of human rights in this state.

The appointments are to be confirmed at this afternoon’s meeting of the Executive Council.

Media contact: 0417 675 917