Local Government Remuneration and Discipline Tribunal appointments

Published Wednesday, 04 July, 2018 at 02:30 PM

Minister for Local Government, Minister for Racing and Minister for Multicultural Affairs
The Honourable Stirling Hinchliffe

Three appointees to the Local Government Remuneration and Discipline Tribunal will tackle any outstanding issues ahead of the creation of a powerful new integrity body to deal with Councillor complaints.

Local Government Minister Stirling Hinchliffe said the appointees would see through the transition period ahead of the new Office of the Independent Assessor and Councillor Conduct Tribunal, due to begin in early December.

Susan Johnson, a legal consultant and former member of Regional Conduct Review Panels, has been appointed Chair of the Tribunal. Ms Johnson will be joined by former Panel member John Boyd and former Deputy Ombudsman and Panel member Rodney Metcalfe.

“These new Tribunal members bring a combination of extensive legal, Local Government and complaints investigation experience vital to the roles,” Mr Hinchliffe said.

“Importantly, each has considerable experience in dealing with complex councillor conduct complaints as long-standing appointees to the pool of Regional Conduct Review Panel members.

“This is part of Palaszczuk Government’s reform agenda to deliver greater transparency and accountability in Local Government.

“I have no doubt these appointees will deal with any outstanding issues quickly and effectively, as we move towards the new system of handling councillor complaints.
“I would also like to acknowledge and sincerely thank the former Tribunal members, Col Meng, Adrian Bloomfield and Brian Bartley for their many years of hard work and service to Queensland.”

The Local Government Remuneration and Discipline Tribunal is established under the Local Government Act 2009 and is responsible for hearing and determining the most serious allegations of misconduct against a Councillor.

The Tribunal members have been appointed until the commencement of the new Councillor Conduct Tribunal.

The new members of the Local Government Remuneration and Discipline Tribunal:

Susan Johnson

Holds a Bachelor of Arts, a Bachelor of Laws and a Master of Business Administration. She was admitted to the Queensland Bar in 1984. Susan has extensive experience in Local Government discipline matters, investigations, law, public administration, public sector ethics and finance. Ms Johnson has worked in, and with public sector agencies for more than 30 years and has been a Regional Conduct Review Panel member since 2010. She also has experience in dealing with conduct and performance matters involving health practitioners as a member of the Public Panel of Assessors under the Health Practitioners (Professional Standards) Act 1999 until recently and also served on the Queensland Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia and the Queensland Psychology Board of Australia for three years until 2017. Ms Johnson is currently the Deputy Chair, West Moreton Hospital and Health Board. She is a self-employed consultant providing legal, research, policy and governance advice to public sector agencies and was a Director of the former Crime and Misconduct Commission.

John Boyd

Has worked extensively in fields such as corruption prevention, public sector ethics, organisational analysis, development and change, human resource management and management development. A Panel member also since 2010.

Rodney Metcalfe

Former Deputy Ombudsman responsible predominantly for Local Government and Assistant Commissioner on the Queensland Health Quality and Complaints Commission. Also, previously a solicitor with Brisbane City Council for 10 years, with another 10 years there in senior management positions. A Panel member also since 2010.

Media contact: Martin Philip 0427 919 548