New roundtable to help improve the lives of LGBTI Queenslanders

Published Monday, 23 April, 2018 at 04:00 PM

Minister for Communities and Minister for Disability Services and Seniors
The Honourable Coralee O'Rourke

A new Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Intersex (LGBTI) Roundtable has met in Brisbane for the first time to provide advice to the Palaszczuk Government and put issues facing LGBTI Queenslanders and their families under the spotlight.

Minister for Communities Coralee O’Rourke today (April 23) met with the dedicated community members from across the state who make up the new Queensland LGBTI Roundtable.

“These wonderful community members have put up their hands to play a part in shaping government policy and strategies that affect the lives of LGBTI Queenslanders and their families,” Mrs O’Rourke said.

“We know that Queenslanders who identify as Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Intersex continue to face social, health and inequality issues.

“We are committed to building thriving and inclusive communities, and improving life outcomes for all Queenslanders.

“This Roundtable forms part of the Palaszczuk Government’s commitment to creating a fair, cohesive and vibrant Queensland that responds to the needs of all people.”

Mrs O’Rourke said the Roundtable would provide an avenue for the government to better consult, engage and share information with the LGBTI community.

“The Roundtable includes community members representing the diversity of Queensland LGBTI communities as well as government agencies,” she said.

“It’s expected the Roundtable will meet three times a year to discuss issues facing the LGBTI community and provide advice on government policies and initiatives.

“In between these meetings, representatives will participate in working groups to help problem solve specific issues and report back on progress to the Roundtable. “

The community members on the new Queensland LGBTI Roundtable are:

  • Elise Stephenson
  • Vicki Ogilvie
  • Ben Bjarnesen
  • Rebecca Johnson
  • Dr Lisa van Leent
  • Rebecca Johnson
  • Chris Pickard
  • Alex David
  • Jay Wells
  • Dallas Pitt
  • Peter Black
  • Rob Neilsen

More information on the Queensland LGBTI Roundtable can be found at


Media Contact: Benjamin Mulcahy 0419 562 389