Four new state schools to open their doors in 2018

Published Monday, 22 January, 2018 at 08:54 AM


Premier and Minister for Trade
The Honourable Annastacia Palaszczuk

Minister for Education and Minister for Industrial Relations
The Honourable Grace Grace

Four new state schools will welcome students for the first time this morning as more than 817,000 children from across the State return to classes for 2018, Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk said.

The Premier said the four new schools – Baringa State Primary School in Caloundra South, North Shore State School in Townsville, Picnic Creek State School in Coomera East and Yarrabilba State School in Logan where she visited today – would cater initially for 1000 students and represented an investment of more than $170 million.

“These students among the 550,000 students attending 1241 state schools across Queensland today,” the Premier said.

“This represents an increase of almost 9500 students or 1.7% from this time last year.”

Another 267,000 students also will start 2018 at 511 non-state schools across the State.

“My Government is determined to provide the learning environment for Queensland children to excel,” she said.

“That is why we have committed to build 10 new schools including a new secondary school Yarrabilba, employ at least 3700 next teachers and increase our commitment to science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM) and digital technologies in our classrooms.”

“We will build seven new secondary schools, two new primary schools and a special school and start planning for another seven schools. We committed to renew and refurbish 17 high schools and recommit to the $750 million rolling fund to maintain more than 25,000 buildings across our State schools.”

Education Minister Grace said the new schools were located in the fast-growing areas of Townsville, Logan, the Sunshine Coast, and the Gold Coast.

“Each of these schools has state-of-the-art facilities built with the education needs of their communities in mind,’’ Ms Grace said.

“There has been strong enrolment interest in each of the schools, with more than 300 students set to attend Baringa, around 370 at Yarrabilba, more than 180 at Picnic Creek and 250 expected at North Shore.”

“The schools have been designed to support modern teaching methods and curriculum priorities.

“Yarrabilba State School will have a strong focus on science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) subjects, so the school’s learning spaces have been designed to be as flexible as possible.

“Baringa State Primary School has been established as a STEM School of Excellence with a discovery centre, coding and robotics work areas, flexible learning spaces, a recording studio and innovation hubs.

“These new facilities represent a significant investment by the Palaszczuk Government and will be shining examples of state education in these developing communities.

“Our schools are key community assets and these new facilities will provide significant opportunities for learning, sporting and cultural events within these vibrant, rapidly changing areas.

“We are investing in the future of our schools and delivering the facilities our students, and their teachers, need to make the most of their education.”

The Premier said Member for Logan Linus Power has worked tirelessly to secure the primary school at Yarrabilba and had secured a commitment from the Government for a secondary school to be opened in 2020.

Mr Power said the delivery of a new secondary school in Yarrabilba, and the opening of the primary school, was part of the Palaszczuk Government’s commitment to give Queensland students the best state education possible, no matter where they live.

“By building a new school in Yarrabilba, we’re giving local children the tools to have a great start in life,” Mr Power said.

 "The Government will invest $60 million to build a new secondary school that will cater for up to 1500 students.”

New schools to be delivered:

New Primary Schools

• Springfield West (last public-private partnership school to be delivered)

• Ripley Valley

New Special School

• Caboolture area

New Secondary Schools

• North Lakes/Mango Hill

• Coomera/Pimpama

• Yarrabilba

• Calliope (West of Gladstone)

• Fortitude Valley Brisbane

• Brisbane Inner City south

• Ripley Valley (Ipswich)


Planning for new schools

Primary Schools

• Palmview

• Logan Reserve

• Shaw (Townsville)

• Mount Peter (Cairns)

Special Schools

• Northern Gold Coast

• Sunshine Coast

Secondary Schools

• Caloundra South


High School Renewal

The 17 high schools across Queensland, all more than 30-years-old, are:

• Aspley State High School

• Bundaberg State High School

• Cairns State High School

• Mansfield State High School

• Mitchelton State High School

• Toowoomba State High School

. Corinda State High School

. Proserpine State High School

• Springwood State High School

• Maryborough State High School

• Indooroopilly State High School

• Tropical North Learning Academy (Smithfield State High School/Trinity Beach

State High School)

• Sarina State High School

• Heatley Secondary College

. Everton Park State High School

• Ferny Grove State High School


Media contact:

  • Susan McGrady (Premier’s office) 0488 996 667
  • David Potter (Minister’s office) 0428 411 617