Experts appointed to sexual health committee

Published Monday, 05 June, 2017 at 11:54 AM

Minister for Health and Minister for Ambulance Services
The Honourable Cameron Dick

Good sexual health for Queenslanders will be the key focus for members appointed to a new ministerial advisory committee.

Minister for Health and Ambulance Services Cameron Dick said appointees to the Sexual Health Ministerial Advisory Committee had the expert knowledge and experience required to improve the sexual health of Queenslanders.

“In December last year, the Palaszczuk Government led the nation, delivering on our election commitment to establish Australia’s first sexual health strategy, the Queensland Sexual Health Strategy 2016-2021,” the Minister said.

“This advisory committee will help deliver that strategy while at the same time providing important policy advice to the government on a range of current and emerging sexual health issues.

“I’m delighted that Professor Cindy Shannon has accepted my invitation to chair this Sexual Health Ministerial Advisory Committee.

“Professor Shannon will chair a committee with specific expertise in sexual health, infectious diseases and reproductive health and community engagement.

“Members will also contribute perspectives on Indigenous, LGBTIQ and migrant sexual health, as well as issues facing sex workers in the Queensland community.

“Members each have recognised expertise in an area that will ensure government services are well targeted at the communities they are intended for.

“I’m confident that through this committee the Government will receive robust advice on priorities and future challenges relating to sexual health to support the implementation of key programs in the community.

“This advisory committee is another step towards ensuring Queenslanders are amongst the healthiest people in the world by 2026.”

The committee’s inaugural meeting will be held in Brisbane tomorrow (6 June 2017).

Members are appointed for three years.

The Queensland Sexual Health Strategy 2016-21 is available on the Queensland Health website:


Queensland Sexual Health Advisory Committee


Chair – Professor Cindy Shannon: Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Engagement) at the University of Queensland and Board member of Hepatitis Australia. Professor Shannon has expertise in hepatitis and issues facing Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

Member – Associate Professor Anthony Allworth: Director of Infectious Diseases Division at the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital. Associate Professor Allworth has expertise in infectious diseases.

Member – Phillip Carswell OAM: Mr Carswell has expertise in issues affecting people who identify as Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Intersex (LGBTI).

Member – AssociateProfessor Rebecca Kimble: Chair of the Maternity and Neonatal Clinical Network. Associate Professor Kimble has expertise in reproductive and maternal health.

Member ­ – Dr Stephen Stathis: Medical Director of Child and Youth Mental Health Services at Children’s Health Queensland. Dr Stathis has expertise in gender dysphoria amongst children and young people.

Member – Dr Graham Neilsen: Specialist Sexual Health Physician and current President Australasian Chapter of Sexual Health Medicine, Royal Australasian College of Physicians. Dr Neilsen has expertise in sexual health medicine.

Member – Associate Professor Ignacio Correa-Velez: Associate Professor at the Queensland University of Technology, Faculty of Health. Associate Professor Correa-Velez has expertise in multicultural health.

Member ­ – Candi Forrest: Treasurer of Respect Inc. Queensland. Ms Forrest has expertise in issues facing people who engage in sex work.

Member – Sue Andrews: Chief Executive Officer of Gurriny Yealamucka Health Service. Ms Andrews has expertise in community health service delivery and issues facing Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.


Media contact: Michelle Wellington 0437 323 834