District Court appointments announced for Brisbane and Southport

Published Friday, 11 November, 2016 at 04:56 PM

Attorney-General and Minister for Justice and Minister for Training and Skills
The Honourable Yvette D'Ath

Attorney-General and Minister for Justice Yvette D’Ath today announced the appointment of two new judges to the District Court of Queensland.

Mrs D’Ath said barristers Catherine Muir and Nicole Kefford were the first judges to be appointed under the government’s new protocol to ensure a more consultative and accountable process for judicial appointments.

“Ms Muir and Ms Kefford will bring more than 40 years’ legal experience to the District Court,” she said.

“Both will sit in Brisbane initially before Ms Muir moves to Southport from the start of next year.”

Ms Muir graduated from the Queensland University of Technology in 1988 and was admitted as a barrister in 2001. She has diverse experience in criminal and civil law, focusing on civil and corporate litigation since 2004. Most recently, Ms Muir served as counsel assisting in the Barrett Adolescent Centre Commission of Inquiry.

Ms Kefford graduated from the University of Queensland in 1999 and was admitted as a barrister in 2006. Her major areas of practice are environmental and planning disputes, alternative dispute resolution and public and administrative law. She served as counsel assisting in the Queensland Floods Commission of Inquiry.

Mrs D’Ath said Ms Muir and Ms Kefford had been selected from a shortlist of suitable candidates recommended by the Judicial Appointments Advisory Panel chaired by retired judge, The Honourable Hugh Botting.

“The government is committed to ensuring that judicial appointments are made on merit in close consultation with the legal fraternity,” she said.

 Ms D’Ath thanked the Queensland Law Society, Bar Association of Queensland and community representatives on the advisory panel for their closely considered advice.

 Media contact: Geoff Breusch (Attorney-General's office) 0417 272 875