Advance Queensland Expert Panel to guide state innovation

Published Thursday, 15 October, 2015 at 10:13 AM

Minister for Housing and Public Works and Minister for Science and Innovation
The Honourable Leeanne Enoch

The Queensland Government has announced the appointment of 16 high-level representatives from industry, tertiary and research sectors to its Advance Queensland Expert Panel.

Minister for Science and Innovation Leeanne Enoch said the thought leaders, successful entrepreneurs, scientists and business leaders will help the government maximise its innovation, research and science investment strategies.

“The Advance Queensland Expert Panel will provide advice and recommendations to Government on future directions, opportunities and challenges in regard to science, innovation, economic development and the growth of the knowledge economy in Queensland,” Ms Enoch said.

“The panel includes highly-respected scientists and innovators including Professor Ian Frazer who developed the Gardasil vaccine, Professor Frank Gannon from QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute, Wayne Gerard of Red Eye and Elaine Stead of Blue Sky Venture Capital.

“The Palaszczuk Government’s $180 million Advance Queensland initiative provides the foundations for developing the industries of the future and supporting the ongoing development of sustainable jobs now and jobs for the future.

“These programs are specifically designed to drive research and innovation in Queensland, particularly in areas where our State has a competitive advantage.

“The Expert Panel will have a key role in providing advice and direction for Advance Queensland initiatives.”

The panel brings together a diverse range of experience and perspectives, regional and sectoral experience, as well as gender balance – with nearly half the panel being women – to ensure there is broad-based expertise and independent advice.

The panel will be chaired by Minister Enoch, with Queensland Chief Scientist Dr Geoff Garrett as deputy chair.

Ms Enoch said the Queensland Government was committed to reinvigorating the State’s science and research sectors and building a strong innovation ecosystem to support a diverse, knowledge-based economy in Queensland.

“With the new Advance Queensland Expert Panel in place, we will continue the drive for innovation-led growth across our state and create high value jobs for Queenslanders.”

The Expert Panel members will hold the voluntary position for 12 months and membership will be renewed annually.

A full list of the Advance Queensland Expert Panel and their biographies are available on the Advance Queensland website

The Advance Queensland Expert Panel includes:

Luke Anear - SafetyCulture Pty Ltd CEO

Monica Bradley - Purposeful Capital Director

Winna Brown - Ernst and Young Partner (Assurance) and Life Sciences Queensland Director

Wayne Gerard - RedEye Founder and CEO

David Gray - Queensland Cyber Infrastructure Foundation Chairman, Australian Urban Research Infrastructure Network Chairman, Queensland University of Technology CEO in Residence

Dr Laurence Hammond - CMTE Development Ltd (formerly CRC Mining) Chair and InQbator CEO and Founder

Dr Cherrell Hirst - ImpediMed Chair, Medibank Private Director, Gold Coast Health and Hospital Service Director

Anna Rooke - QUT Creative Enterprise Australia CEO

Elaine Stead - Blue Sky Venture Capital Investment Director

Professor Ian Frazer - The University of Queensland School of Medicine

Professor Frank Gannon - QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute Director and CEO

Associate Professor Francesca Iacopi - Griffith University, Queensland Micro and Nanotechnology Centre

Professor G.Q. Max Lu - University of Queensland Provost and Senior Vice‑President

Professor Arun Sharma - Queensland University of Technology Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Commercialisation)

Professor Grant Stanley - Central Queensland University Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Professor Zee Upton - Institute of Molecular Biology, Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*Star) Research Director (Singapore)


Media contact: Kim Lyell 0437 859987