Queensland students keep Anzac spirit alive

Published Friday, 05 December, 2014 at 11:31 AM

The Honourable Campbell Newman

Seventy Queensland students will take part in the historic Anzac Centenary commemoration at Gallipoli in 2015 as winners of the Premier’s Anzac Prize.

Premier Campbell Newman said students from across Queensland would benefit from the opportunity to immerse themselves in the spirit of Anzac.

“The Anzac story is so important to Australia and we’re excited that these students will be able to learn more about it in this way,” Mr Newman said.

“It will be a unique experience and honour for these students and chaperones to stand on the Gallipoli Peninsula, 100 years to the day from when the Anzac soldiers landed.

“This tour will be a time they’ll never forget and one they can share with their families now and in years to come.”

**A full list of winners is below**

Mr Newman congratulated the 2015 winners who will tour Turkey, Belgium and France with their chaperones for two weeks from 22 April 2015.

“The Premier’s Anzac Prize program is an important election commitment and is part of our strong plan to revitalise education services,” he said.

“Visiting these war memorial sites and attending commemorations in person at such an historic moment, will provide these young Queenslanders with an invaluable educational experience.”

One of the 70 winners, Year 10 student Jack Hill, has a strong respect for the Anzac tradition, having attended Anzac Day services each year since childhood. Jack has co-led his school’s Interact Club and has been involved in a number of projects to serve community needs.

“I’m very grateful for this fantastic opportunity and am looking forward to commemorating the sacrifice of fallen soldiers, such as my great-great uncle who died in action during World War II,” Jack said.

2014 Premier’s Anzac Prize winner Ms Tiffanie Turnbull said the tour was an invaluable, once in a lifetime opportunity and encouraged this year’s recipients with advice on how to make the most of their time overseas.

“Learn as much as you can and don’t stifle any emotions you might feel – because trust me, it is an emotionally intense experience,” Ms Turnbull said.

“Most of all, remember and be thankful that you arrived on the Peninsula by plane and bus, and not on a ship under a hail of bullets like our Anzacs, some of whom were as young as you. 

Lieutenant Colonel Jan Cooper, Commander of the North Queensland Australian Army Cadet Brigade and Principal of Townsville’s Annandale State School, was a member of the 2015 selection panel that chose the seventy winners.

“Judging so many high quality, thoughtful and moving presentations was a difficult task,” Lieutenant Colonel Cooper said.

“I’m honoured to also be one of the chaperones selected for the 2015 tour and will be fortunate to stand shoulder to shoulder with the students during such a profound experience.”

The 2015 tour group, some of whom had relatives who served in World War I, will attend Anzac Day ceremonies both at Gallipoli and across the Western Front.

The Premier’s Anzac Prize competition required students to produce an original, two to five minute multimedia presentation exploring how the Anzac tradition has shaped Australia, why it’s still important and how future generations can keep the tradition alive.

The judging panel included Anzac descendants and current members of the Australian Defence Force.

The Premier thanked all the students who entered.

“The time and effort invested in each presentation was a wonderful tribute to the Anzac tradition,” he said.

A complete list of the 2015 Premier’s Anzac Prize winners is available at:

www.education.qld.gov.au/students/grants/scholarships/anzac/2015.html along with links to video footage, photos and reports from past tours.

[ENDS] 5 December 2014

Media contact:           Premier’s Office 3719 7000   


The Premier’s Anzac Prize 2015 – winning students

  • Jessica Honan, Atherton State High School
  • Lycharne Parkinson, Beenleigh State High School
  • Ayla Tartic, Benowa State High School
  • Bayley Williams, Blackall State School
  • Robert Matthews, Boonah State High School
  • Max Kirsch, Brisbane Boys' College (Toowong)
  • Laura Fell, Brisbane Girls Grammar School
  • Josefine Ganko, Brisbane Girls Grammar School
  • Anna Ruddell, Brisbane Girls Grammar School
  • Emma Grady, Brisbane State High School
  • Raphael Wixted, Brisbane State High School
  • Callum Jarod Young, Caboolture State High School
  • Mia Jones, Chancellor State College
  • Brittany Geoghegan, Christian Outreach College (Toowoomba)
  • Renee Drury Clairvaux, Mackillop College (Upper Mount Gravatt)
  • Ainsleigh Friedrich, Clayfield College
  • Victoria Lloyd, Clayfield College
  • Megan Wright, Clayfield College
  • Gemma Price, Cleveland District State High School
  • Ebony Layton, Clontarf Beach State High School
  • Benita Becker, Concordia Lutheran College
  • Grace Vogler, Cooloola Christian College
  • Jayde Milliner, Coombabah State High School
  • Lalatuai Grogan, Fairholme College (Toowoomba)
  • Jack Hill, Ferny Grove State High School
  • Meg Gemmell, Good Shepherd Lutheran College
  • Faith Howells, Helensvale State High School
  • Anthea Lobb, Kirwan State High School
  • Alex White, Loreto College Coorparoo
  • Taylor Whitewood, Loreto College Coorparoo
  • Meghan Malone, Mackay North State High School
  • Nicholas Murray, Marist College Ashgrove
  • Darcy Reynolds, Marymount College (Burleigh Waters)
  • Elly McSwan, Matthew Flinders Anglican College
  • Alice Tilleard, Matthew Flinders Anglican College
  • Maddison Veivers, Matthew Flinders Anglican College
  • Adam Cass, Meridan State College
  • Phebe Mills, Merrimac State High School
  • Dahra Moodie, Middlemount Community School
  • Amy Stratford, Mirani State High School
  • Jessica Cherry, Mountain Creek State High School
  • Hayden Wilson, Northern Beaches State High School
  • Emily Ireland, Palm Beach-Currumbin State High School
  • Olivia Adcock, Pimlico State High School
  • Alison Cowan, Pimlico State High School
  • Cade Mabo, Edwards Pimlico State High School
  • Emma Simpson, Pimlico State High School
  • Lachlan McLean, Prince of Peace Lutheran College (Everton Hills)
  • Rhylee Goodwin, Proserpine State High School
  • Bailey Roth, Queensland Academy for Creative Industries
  • Jonathan Manifold, Queensland Academy for Health Sciences
  • Sasha Zelma Brady, Queensland Academy for Science, Mathematics and Technology
  • Theo Delaney, Shalom College (Bundaberg)
  • Emily Jones, Somerville House (South Brisbane)
  • Emily Leggett, Somerville House (South Brisbane)
  • Connor Harvey, St Andrew's Catholic College Redlynch Valley
  • Nicole Lee Scotti, St Andrew's Catholic College Redlynch Valley
  • Catherine Grace Zappulla, St Andrew's Catholic College Redlynch Valley
  • Jacob Cookson, St Brendan's College (Yeppoon)
  • Brianna Ushay, St Columban's College (Caboolture)
  • Elly Domrow, St Hilda's School (Southport)
  • Majella Pearl, St Mary's College (Ipswich)
  • Bridget Andresen, St Monica's College (Cairns)
  • Aoife Colvill, St Monica's College (Cairns)
  • Zack Lindenberg, St Patrick's College (Gympie)
  • Sofia Madsen, St Rita's College (Clayfield)
  • Kira Maher, The Cathedral School of St Anne and St James
  • Alainya Doyle, Wavell State High School
  • Samantha Ellis, Wavell State High School
  • Rhiannon Hassett, Wavell State High School