Sustainable future recognised with awards

Published Friday, 30 May, 2014 at 10:00 PM

Minister for Environment and Heritage Protection
The Honourable Andrew Powell

Tanner Kibble Denton Architects and Tanner GHD have taken out the top prize at the Premier’s Sustainability Awards in Brisbane, in recognition of the Brisbane City Hall Restoration Project.

Minister for Environment and Heritage Protection Andrew Powell said the restoration had successfully balanced original design with contemporary amenities and new energy efficient services to secure the building’s sustainable future.

“Brisbane City Hall is now a restored and vibrant meeting place—re-equipped for its role as the focus for Brisbane's civic, cultural, and social events,” Mr Powell said.

 "We promised at the election to grow a four pillar economy and the Premier’s Sustainability Awards showcase how that can be achieved in concert with our commitment to protecting the environment.

 "The Premier’s Sustainability Awards received an overwhelming response, with 120 nominations received, recognising the importance of innovation in developing a sustainable future for Queensland.

 "There are people in our local communities who are improving environmental outcomes, making savings on their bottom line and improving the future for our communities and now they have been recognised.

 "St Aidan’s Anglican Girls’ School in Corinda and Silkwood School on the Gold Coast were among the winners for their holistic approaches to sustainability.

 “Sovereign Homes was awarded for building environmentally sustainable homes, while Tanner Kibble Denton Architects in association with TannerGHD also won the heritage category for its work on the Brisbane City Hall restoration.

 “Collinsville graziers Barry and Leanne O’Sullivan received an award for innovative improvements to their cattle property using the grazing industry’s “Best Management Practice” program, and Rocklea-based Groundworks received the 2014 Minister’s Award for Leadership in Sustainability for its ground-breaking Ecoblanket, a world-first method of large-scale revegetation.

 “Other winners included Brisbane Airport Corporation for significant energy savings, U & A Cleaning Services for achieving the highest level of sustainability in the cleaning industry, and mining and construction companies Thiess, Saipem Australia and Santos for their work on the CSG / LNG transmission pipeline to Curtis Island off Gladstone.

 “The Newman Government has a strong plan to help Queenslanders develop technologies that reduce environmental impacts, foster new business and jobs, and bring economic benefit and a brighter future to the community.

“These awards celebrate the integral role industry, school and community groups can play in improving environmental outcomes.

 “I highly commend all of the category winners, which will each receive $2,500 to support on-going sustainability projects.” 

 Mr Powell thanked this year’s sponsors and supporters who included Australia Pacific LNG, Australian Country Choice, Bendigo Bank, CANEGROWERS, Carlton and United Breweries, CitySmart, Coles, Glencore, Network TEN, QUT, The Department of Tourism, Major Events, Small Business and the Commonwealth Games, Santos GLNG and Thiess.

More information and a complete list of the 2013 awards finalists is available at

[ENDS] 30 May 2014

 Media contact: Lynette Keep 0419 620 299

 A full list of winners is below: 

Premier’s Award – Tanner Kibble Denton Architects and Tanner GHD – Brisbane City Hall Restoration Project

Minister’s Award for Leadership in Sustainability – Groundworks - Ecoblanket

Community Award – St Aidan’s Anglican Girls’ School

Built Environment Award – Sovereign Homes – the Beachmere Project

Innovation in Sustainable Technologies Award – Thiess, Saipem Australia and Santos GLNG Gas Transmission Pipeline Project – The Narrows Marine Crossing

Rural Award – Grazing BMP Partnership – Glenalpine Station

Business Eco-efficiency Award – Brisbane Airport Corporation

Small Business Award – U & A Cleaning Services

Sustainability in Education Award – Silkwood School

Sustainable Heritage Award – Tanner Kibble Denton Architects and Tanner GHD – Brisbane City Hall Restoration Project