QPS officers awarded for role in policing

Published Wednesday, 28 August, 2013 at 07:00 AM

Minister for Police and Community Safety
The Honourable Jack Dempsey

Police Minister Jack Dempsey has congratulated Queensland Police Service (QPS) officers who were recognised in the Australasian Council of Women and Policing (ACWAP) Excellence in Policing Awards in Adelaide last night.

Mr Dempsey said Senior Sergeant Narelle Curtis was also awarded the 15th Excellence in Policing Awards most prestigious honour, the Audrey Fagan Award, for her role as a mentor and leader during her 40 year career with the QPS.

“I congratulate each of these officers for the dedication and commitment they constantly show to keeping Queenslanders safe and secure,” Mr Dempsey said.

“The QPS was well represented, receiving awards in half of the categories presented by the ACWAP.

“I urge officers across the state to continue their outstanding work ensuring Queensland women have access to the policing services they require.”

Commissioner Ian Stewart said that it was encouraging to see the QPS nominated in so many areas and congratulated the six officers have been recognised as winners this year.

“The QPS provided a number of excellent nominations for the Australasian Council of Women and Policing Awards. I would like to extend my congratulations on behalf of the Service to all of the nominees, and the six members who were recognised as winners in their categories,” Commissioner Stewart said.

The Audrey Fagan Award, chosen by a selection panel from all of this year’s nominees, was presented to Senior Sergeant Narelle Curtis. In a career approaching 40 years she is recognised as a pioneer within the QPS and the Audrey Fagan award is for outstanding women who have shown exceptional qualities as a mentor, role model and leader of men and women in policing.

Mt Isa Constable Naomi Hindle was awarded a Bravery Award for her unwavering commitment to protecting victims of domestic violence. The awards panel specifically highlighting Constable Hindle’s work in a remote indigenous community and her contribution to protecting the victims of domestic violence.

The Most Outstanding Female Leader award was presented to Senior Sergeant Melissa Adams, Officer in Charge of Rockhampton Police Station, for demonstrating outstanding leadership in an operational policing field. In particular for her work in the community following the Queensland flood disasters in 2010/11 and 2013.

Deputy Commissioner of Strategy, Policy and Performance Steve Gollchewski was awarded the Champion of Change award which recognizes the significant role that men can play in improving policing for women for his continued support and promotion to the cause of women in policing.

Sergeant Ash Dubbelman was awarded the Excellence in Policing for Women Initiative for his work as the Domestic and Family Violence Coordinator for the Gold Coast District, Northern Patrol. The award highlights those who have made a significant positive impact on how women are able to access the justice system and Sergeant Dubbelman has improved QPS responses and developed policy and procedures to better support and empower victims of Domestic and Family Violence.

ACWAP has been participating in the global network of women in policing since it was established in August 1997. It consists of women and men within police services and the community who work together to improve the opportunities and services provided to women within policing.

[ENDS] 28 August 2013

Media Contacts: Lea Emery 0417 226 114