Independent tribunal to reform Parliamentary entitlements

Published Thursday, 11 July, 2013 at 02:45 PM

The Honourable Campbell Newman

An independent tribunal will determine the future remuneration and allowances for State MPs under a five-point plan to reform the Queensland Parliament’s entitlements system.

The comprehensive review will ensure politicians can no longer interfere with remuneration, allowances and entitlements, as occurred when former Premier Anna Bligh unlawfully froze Queensland MPs’ salaries in 2009.

Premier Campbell Newman said the five point plan would entail:

  • The Government overturning the Beattie/Bligh pay legislation to break the nexus between Federal and State politicians’ remuneration when Parliament resumes
  • Introducing new legislation to establish the Independent Remuneration Tribunal which will be tasked with determining politicians’ pay and allowances
  • Legislating that the determinations of the tribunal are independent, binding and not subject to change by politicians
  • Legislating that back pay for current and former politicians is only applicable from 1 July 2013
  • Conducting a full review of politicians’ allowances, to ensure they are not a defacto salary but proper reimbursement of expenses incurred in serving an electorate

Mr Newman said the Independent Remuneration Tribunal would be headed by Bond University Vice Chancellor Professor Tim Brailsford, who will be joined by former AMWU secretary David Harrison and Multicap CEO Joanne Jessop.

“It is patently clear the Queensland Parliament’s entitlements system needs urgent review,” Mr Newman said.

“The LNP Government has never shied away from reform and we will make sure the entitlements system is fixed in an open and transparent way.

“I note that both the Opposition and the KAP have publicly supported the creation of an independent tribunal to determine the future entitlements of Queensland’s Parliamentarians.

“With their public endorsement of our plan, I look forward to our new measures receiving bipartisan support.”

The tribunal’s recommendations will be presented to the Government by mid-October.

[ENDS] 11 July 2013

Media contact: Premier’s office 3224 4500

Tribunal members’ biographies

Professor Tim Brailsford

Professor Brailsford is the Vice Chancellor and President of Bond University. Professor Brailsford’s previous positions include Executive Dean at the University of Queensland, Dean at the Australian National University in Canberra, and other senior academic positions at the University of Melbourne and Monash University. Professor Brailsford’s area of expertise is finance and investments. He holds a PhD, Masters and Honours degrees and is a Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia, Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management and Fellow of CPA Australia. He was appointed as the inaugural Frank Finn Professor of Finance at the University of Queensland.

David Harrison

Mr Harrison has more than 30 years’ experience in industrial relations including nine years as Queensland Secretary of the Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union and ten years as the Honorary President of the Queensland Council of Unions. He is currently the Chairman of QMI Solutions Ltd and a Director of Q-COMP, Queensland’s Workers’ Compensation Regulatory Authority. His directorships have also included: Chair – Australia TradeCoast, Chair – Port of Brisbane Corporation, Director – Brisbane Airport Corporation Group and QIC Limited. David was also a Director of three super funds between 1987 – 2005, including Sunsuper.

Joanne Jessop

Ms Jessop has served as Chief Executive Officer of Multicap since 2006 and is vice-chair of the Queensland National Disability Services committee. Ms Jessop has extensive international experience in senior management roles in the healthcare and human services sectors and holds an MBA from the University of Queensland. She is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management