Gasfields Commission powers established

Published Tuesday, 27 November, 2012 at 02:46 PM

Deputy Premier, Minister for State Development, Infrastructure and Planning
The Honourable Jeff Seeney

The Newman Government today took another step towards improved co-existence between resource companies, landholders and communities with the introduction of the Gasfields Commission Bill 2012 to the Queensland Parliament. 

Deputy Premier and State Development, Infrastructure and Planning Minister Jeff Seeney said the Bill would formalise the powers of the Gasfields Commission, a key election promise that the Newman Government was committed to delivering.

“In order to deliver on our promise, we must ensure the resources and agricultural sectors work side by side to ensure long-term prosperity for Queensland,” Mr Seeney said.

“Since its establishment in April 2012, the Gasfields Commission has been doing some great work in the community, working towards better co-existence between industries and landholders.

“The coal seam gas to liquefied natural gas (CSG-LNG) industry will inject almost $60 billion into the Queensland economy.

“These projects are expected to create more than 18,000 jobs and leave a legacy of skilled workers for new mining and other projects in the future.

“There are currently more than 8,400 people working on LNG facilities on Curtis Island with more than 88 per cent of these workers being from Queensland.

“While this industry is pumping billions of dollars into the local economy and will generate significant royalty revenue, it must co-exist with the agricultural sector and better work with the rural landholders and regional communities that we depend on for food and fibre.

“The agricultural industry has been the backbone of regional Queensland since settlement and is worth $12 billion to the State.  The Newman Government is committed to doubling the value of food production by 2040.

“It’s essential that we strike the right balance between these two pillars of our economy.”

Mr Seeney said the Bill established the GasFields Commission as an independent statutory body with Chairman John Cotter and six Commissioners.

Mr Seeney said the Bill also formalised the Gasfields Community Leaders' Council, a group made up of senior leaders from agricultural and community groups, local and state government and the CSG industry.

He said the Council would provide wider community representation to the Gasfields Commission and ensure the Commission's priorities were in-line with the community’s priorities and expectations.

The Bill itself has also been shaped by community input, incorporating appropriate elements of the 55 submissions received from Queenslanders during community consultation earlier this year.

[ENDS] 27 November 2012

Media Contact:
  Kate Haddan – 0418 373 516