Energy Experts Appointed to Spearhead Queensland’s Renewable Revolution

Published Monday, 01 July, 2024 at 01:30 PM

Minister for Energy and Clean Economy Jobs
The Honourable Mick de Brenni

  • Queensland Energy System Advisory Board members named.
  • Board to provide technical advice on Queensland’s renewable energy transition.
  • Board members are Australian energy sector experts.
  • Another key commitment of the Queensland Energy and Jobs Plan delivered.

Queensland’s renewable energy transformation is in expert hands, thanks to the establishment of a new independent technical advisory board.

The Queensland Energy System Advisory Board (QESAB) will ensure the Sunshine State  continues to power ahead with a smooth, coordinated energy transformation that delivers clean, reliable, and affordable power for generations.

This leading team of energy experts will help lead Queensland’s energy transformation by providing critical advice to the Miles Government and the Energy Minister.

The new Board will be led by Leeanne Bond – a Queensland professional engineer who has helped shape some of the nation’s most important green energy projects.

Ms Bond is an expert in energy and resources, technology and innovation, infrastructure and governance of major capital projects. She has been an advisor to a broad range of sectors and has substantial board experience.

The Board will play a key role in providing advice and recommendations as part of the Queensland SuperGrid Infrastructure Blueprint review and update process, ensuring that the state is on the optimal infrastructure pathway to ensure:

  • Renewable energy targets are met
  • safe, secure, reliable electricity supply, and
  • the long-term cost of electricity for Queensland consumers is minimised

The Board will also deliver annual progress statement, outlining progress toward achievement of Queensland’s renewable energy targets and on delivering the SuperGrid.

The new Board includes:

  • Ms Leeanne Bond (Chair) - has over 30 years’ experience in the Australian energy sector, including 20 years in Board Chair and Advisor, and Independent Non-Executive Company Director roles. Ms Bond is an Independent Non-Executive Director on Aurecon Limited, Entry Limited and CRC One Basin Limited.

  • Mr Mark Carkeet - is a highly experienced solicitor and consultant for the energy and resources sector working on projects in Australia, the Pacific and east Asia. Mr Carkeet is a consultant for Minter Ellison and has provided advice to government on strategic energy initiatives including the Priority Transmission Investment framework and Renewable Energy Zone framework.

  • Mr Peter Price - has over 40 years’ experience in the Queensland electricity industry. Mr Price is Chief Engineer of Energy Queensland, is on the Board of Energy Skills Queensland, is a member on the Board of TAFE Queensland and is a member of the Australian Energy Market Commission Reliability Panel. Mr Price previously served as an Executive General Manager at Energex.

  • Ms Jo Sheppard - has spent the past 20 years working in roles that support Queensland’s regional communities across multiple sectors, and most recently is focused on agriculture and co-existence with energy projects. Ms Sheppard is the Chief Executive Officer of Queensland Farmers Federation, and has worked to develop the Queensland Renewable Energy Landholder Toolkit for landholders considering hosting a project on their property.

  • Professor Paul Simshauser AM - has over 30 years’ experience in Queensland’s electricity sector working in ASX-listed, private and government-owned companies, and in the public sector. Professor Paul Simshauser is the Chief Executive Officer of Powerlink and is a part-time professor of economics at the Centre of Applied Energy Economics and Policy Research with Griffith University

  • Ms Leann Wilson - is a Bidjara/Kara-Kara and South Sea Islander descendant, and is a recognised experienced executive, business owner and First Nations leader working with businesses, government, and communities to facilitate collaboration between Indigenous Australians and the energy and resources sector.

  • Ms Kathryn Summers - is an experienced power control engineer with over 25 years’ electrical, market and regulatory experience. Ms Summers was awarded the Professional Electrical Engineer of the Year in 2020 and is dedicated to bringing about an orderly transition to a net zero future.

Quotes attributable to Energy and Clean Economy Jobs Minister Mick de Brenni:

“To deliver the energy transition we need the best of the best, and our seven board appointments represent decades of knowledge and experience in the field.

“These energy superheroes will help the Miles Government deliver on its nation leading energy plan, providing independent advice and ensuring we stay on track as we decarbonise.

“I’m looking forward to working closely with the new board, as we continue our energy transformation and work towards delivering cheaper, cleaner energy for generations to come.

“The inaugural board is bolstered by seven exceptional individuals with a vast array of expertise.  

“The announcement of the board members represents a commitment made in the Queensland Energy and Jobs Plan and it is an important piece for Queensland’s energy future.

“I’d like to congratulate board Chair Ms Leeanne Bond and the 6 new members for being part of this landmark board.

“I am excited to work with the new board and continue our energy transformation as we work toward our renewable energy and emissions reduction targets.”

Media contact Minister de Brenni’s office: 0482 503 675