Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Minister for Tourism, Major Events, Small Business and the Commonwealth Games
    The Honourable Jann Stuckey

    New Tourism Queensland board announced

    Minister for Tourism, Major Events, Small Business and the Commonwealth Games
    The Honourable Jann Stuckey

    Thursday, August 09, 2012

    New Tourism Queensland board announced

    Tourism, Major Events, Small Business and the Commonwealth Games Minister Jann Stuckey today announced the new Tourism Queensland board.

    She also named two new members for the Events Queensland board.

    The announcements follow a Cabinet decision this week to recommend to the Governor all members be appointed for three years.

    Ms Stuckey said it was a new direction for Tourism Queensland and she had every confidence the incoming board had the depth of experience to make a significant contribution to getting tourism back on track.

    Coming one week after new Chairman Stephen Gregg commenced his role, the establishment of the new board provides strong leadership and stability for the Corporation.

    “Tourism is recognised by the Newman Government as one of the four pillars of our economy and I look forward to working closely with the new board as we revitalise and reposition our tourism industry,” Ms Stuckey said.

    “The board can now get on with delivering the Government’s Tourism Action Plan and continue the good work achieved by both Tourism Queensland and Events Queensland,” she said.

    “These board members bring to the Corporation a strong knowledge of event management, aviation, drive tourism, accommodation, hospitality, digital distribution and tour operation.”

    Chairman Stephen Gregg will be supported by the current Tourism Queensland Deputy Chairperson Julieanne Alroe and Garth Prowd, Ian Gillespie, James Corvan, Phillip di Bella, Elizabeth Ward, Paul Donovan and Libby Marshall.

    New members on the Events Queensland board are Gary Smith and Alan Smith.

    “I wish to place on record my appreciation and gratitude to outgoing board members and thank them for their significant contribution,” Ms Stuckey said.

    “Tourism Queensland and Events Queensland will continue to play a vital role in rebuilding Queensland’s reputation as a leading tourism and event destination.”

    Chairman Stephen Gregg has more than 35 years experience in the Australian tourism industry. Mr Gregg has held senior management positions in the Transport and Aviation sectors as well as holding Chief Executive roles in the Queensland and Northern Territory State Tourism Offices. He has an in-depth knowledge of the drivers of public and private sector investment and strategy for the Australian tourism industry.

    Deputy chairperson Julieanne Alroe was appointed to the position of CEO and Managing Director at BAC (Brisbane Airport Corporation) in July 2009. She currently holds board positions with Brisbane Airport Corporation Pty Limited, Australia TradeCoast, International Grammar School in Sydney, Tourism Queensland and the Queensland Theatre Company. She was appointed Deputy Chairperson of the Tourism Queensland Board in October 2011.

    Garth Prowd OAM has been involved in event management and sports marketing for almost 30 years. Until recently Mr Prowd was the owner and Managing Director of USM EVENTS, one of Australia’s largest and most successful event management companies. He is employed as a consultant in event management and sports marketing, specialising in events tourism.

    Ian Gillespie is a highly experienced corporate executive with a background in law. Mr Gillespie is an accomplished company director with experience in private, public and listed companies. He is currently a Director of RACQ Insurance Limited, and a Director of the Confederation of Australian Motor Sport.

    James Corvan is one of Australia’s most experienced regional tourism practitioners and for the past 20 years has led the field of destination marketing, development and management. A board member on Brisbane and Whitsunday regional tourism organisations, Mr Corvan was an Executive Director of Marketing at Tourism Queensland.

    Phillip di Bella is the Founder and Managing Director of Di Bella Coffee. He holds numerous community building roles including Director of Brisbane Marketing, Chairman of both the Queen Street Advisory Board and the Valley Malls Advisory Board. He is also a member of the Lord Mayor’s Business Round Table.

    Elizabeth Ward has led the Australian Tourism Data Warehouse (ATDW) business since August 2004. She has played a key role in the design and development of the National Online Strategy for tourism. Ms Ward has previously held senior management positions in Tourism Queensland for 12 years including Director of e-Marketing.

    Paul Donovan is currently the Chief Operating Officer of Gold Coast Airports, responsible for the general management of the day-to-day operations of Gold Coast Airport. Mr Donovan has had more than 35 years experience in aviation and tourism. He has been a member of the Gold Coast Tourism Board for six years, five years as Chairman.

    Libby Marshall is a senior executive and business leader with more than 24 years experience in strategic marketing communications. She started her career with the London Tourist Board and has enjoyed a successful career working in tourism, the international airline industry, sports marketing and major event management.

    Gary Smith is Managing Director of Tourism Leisure Corporation. He has been actively involved as a director in the Kingfisher Bay Resort project since its inception in 1987. He has helped guide the resort as a leader in the ecotourism field. Mr Smith is on the board of the Queensland Tourism Industry Council and a member of the Queensland Tourism Strategy Steering Committee.

    Alan Smith is the current owner-operator of Outback Aussie Tours. Mr Smith has a passion for regional tourism. He is a member of the Queensland Tourism Industry Council and a small operator representative on the Queensland Tourism Strategy committee.

    [ENDS] 9 August 2012

    Media contact: Lynette Keep 3224 2002