Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Deputy Premier, Minister for State Development, Infrastructure and Planning
    The Honourable Jeff Seeney

    Central Qld planning process starts

    Deputy Premier, Minister for State Development, Infrastructure and Planning
    The Honourable Jeff Seeney

    Friday, July 27, 2012

    Central Qld planning process starts

    Moves are underway in Central Queensland to develop the region’s Statutory Regional Plan to help resolve land use conflicts.

    Deputy Premier and Minister for State Development, Infrastructure and Planning Jeff Seeney today convened the first meeting of the committee that will guide the preparation of the Central Queensland Regional Plan.

    The meeting in Emerald drew together the mayors of five councils, six Members of State Parliament and 11 members representing business, industry and community groups.

    Mr Seeney said the Central Queensland Regional Planning Committee would be a forum to address community issues and interests.

    “This committee will oversee the regional planning process and increase understanding within the community of the Central Queensland Regional Plan,” Mr Seeney said.

    “Communities will be represented by their mayors who will put forward the views of their local regions during the process. Industry representatives will also have a voice at the table.

    “The committee will make sure the views of both local and wider groups are considered in its work.”

    There will be widespread community consultation throughout the development of the regional plan and a number of opportunities for community members to have input.

    Mr Seeney said including land use mapping in the statutory regional plan would help resolve conflict between landholders and the agricultural and resources sectors.

    “Central Queensland has diverse agricultural assets and an abundance of resource deposits,” he said.

    “This plan will ensure the region grows in a managed and sustainable way and will let us deal with urban expansion, the timing and sequencing of infrastructure and enhancing agricultural, resource and tourism opportunities while ensuring management of environmental impacts.”

    Mr Seeney said the committee would increase transparency of the regional plan development process, following an expression-of-interest process for community and industry representatives.

    He said the committee would represent a range of regional viewpoints and interests during the preparation of the Central Queensland Statutory Regional Plan which is expected to be finalised in August 2013.

    There will be opportunities for community input during the drafting of the plans over the next six months and a formal consultation period for submissions on draft plans early next year.

    Members of the Central Queensland Regional Planning Committee are:

    Councillor Ron Carige – Mayor of Banana Shire Council
    Councillor Peter Maguire – Mayor of Central Highlands Regional Council
    Councillor Terry Munns – Mayor of Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council
    Councillor Gail Sellers – Mayor of Gladstone Regional Council
    Councillor Margaret Strelow – Mayor of Rockhampton Regional Council

    Mr Stephen Bennett MP – Member for Burnett
    Mr Bill Byrne MP – Member for Rockhampton
    Mrs Liz Cunningham MP – Member for Gladstone
    Mr Vaughan Johnson MP – Member for Gregory
    Mr Ted Malone MP – Member for Mirani
    Mr Bruce Young MP – Member for Keppel

    Ms Mary Carroll – Chief Executive Officer, Capricorn Enterprise, Rockhampton
    Ms Elyse Riethmuller – Senior Executive, Fitzroy Basin Association Inc. Rockhampton
    Ms Sandra Hobbs – General Manager, Central Highlands Development Corporation, Emerald
    Ms Diane Morris – Treasurer, Enterprise Biloela Association Inc
    Mr Andrew Barger – Director, Resource and Environment Policy, Queensland Resources Council, Brisbane
    Mr Paul Bell – Acting Chair, Regional Development Australia - Fitzroy and Central West, Parkhurst
    Ms Mabel Quakawoot – Director, Port Curtis-Coral Coast Aboriginal Corporation, Erakala
    Mr Ian Burnett – Vice President, AgForce Queensland, Emerald
    Mr Sam Bradford – Member, Golden Triangle Community, Springsure
    Ms Saleena Ham – Project Officer, Moura Chamber of Commerce
    Ms Elizabeth Alexander – Dawson Valley Cotton Growers Assn. & Central Highlands Cotton Growers & Irrigators Assn.

    [ENDS] 26 July 2012

    Media contact: John Wiseman – 0409 791 281