Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    The Honourable Campbell Newman

    Friday, March 30, 2012

    Premier announces new Ministry

    The Honourable Campbell Newman

    Friday, March 30, 2012

    Premier announces new Ministry

    Premier announces new Ministry

    Queensland Premier Campbell Newman today announced the new Ministry of the Newman LNP Government.

    Mr Newman said the Ministry included both experienced members and new faces who had wide-ranging, real world experience to get Queensland back on track.

    “The new faces in the Ministry reflect the depth of talent in the LNP and the experienced members will continue their outstanding work for the people of Queensland,” Mr Newman said.

    “This is a Ministry for all of Queensland because it’s made of representatives of all of the regions.

    “All members of the Ministry will be working hard for Queensland - to grow a four pillar economy, lower the cost of living by cutting waste, revitalise front line services, deliver better infrastructure and planning and restore accountability to government.

    “After 20 years of Labor, we have a lot of work to do, but my team and I will be working hard every day to get Queensland back on track.

    “I pledge to the people of Queensland that we will not let you down.”

    The Ministry will be sworn in by Her Excellency Penelope Wensley AC on Tuesday.

    Campbell Newman Premier and Cabinet
    Jeff Seeney Deputy Premier and Minister for State Development, Infrastructure and Planning
    Tim Nicholls Treasurer and Minister for Trade
    Lawrence Springborg Minister for Health
    John-Paul Langbroek Minister for Education, Training and Employment
    David Gibson Minister for Police and Community Safety
    Jarrod Bleijie Attorney General and Minister for Justice
    Scott Emerson Minister for Transport and Main Roads
    Bruce Flegg Minister for Housing and Public Works
    John McVeigh Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
    Andrew Powell Minister for Environment and Heritage Protection
    Andrew Cripps Minister for Natural Resources and Mines
    Mark McArdle Minister for Energy and Water Supply
    David Crisafulli Minister for Local Government
    Tracy Davis Minister for Communities, Child Safety and Disability Services
    Ros Bates Minister for Science, IT, Innovation and the Arts
    Steve Dickson Minister for National Parks, Recreation, Sport and Racing
    Jann Stuckey Minister for Tourism, Major Events, Small Business and Commonwealth Games
    Jack Dempsey Minister for Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander & Multicultural Affairs and Assisting the Premier


    Lisa France Assistant Minister for Natural Resources and Mines
    Tim Mander Assistant Minister for Sport and Racing
    Chris Davis Assistant Minister for Health
    Gavin King Assistant Minister for Tourism
    Steve Minnikin Assistant Minister for Public Transport
    Rob Molhoek Assistant Minister for Child Safety
    Ian Walker Assistant Minister for Planning Reform
    Deb Frecklington Assistant Minister for Finance, Administration and Regulatory Reform
    David Kempton Assistant Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs
    Saxon Rice Assistant Minister for Technical and Further Education
    Robert Cavallucci Assistant Minister for Multicultural Affairs


    Fiona Simpson Speaker
    Glen Elmes Deputy Speaker/Chairman of Committees
    Ray Stevens Leader of the House
    Vaughan Johnson Chief Whip
    Rosemary Menkens Senior Whip
    Ted Sorensen Deputy Whip
    Tarnya Smith Deputy Whip

    [ENDS] 30 March 2012

    Media Contact: Kylie Jacobson 0419 850 223