Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Education and Industrial Relations
    The Honourable Cameron Dick

    Smart Classrooms Awards applaud ICT Teachers and support staff

    Education and Industrial Relations
    The Honourable Cameron Dick

    Tuesday, August 09, 2011

    Smart Classrooms Awards applaud ICT Teachers and support staff

    Education Minister Cameron Dick said Queensland ICT teachers and support staff who were helping transform classrooms and power learning into the 21st century had recognised in the tenth annual Smart Classroom Awards.

    “These awards have recognised the outstanding innovation and excellence in information and communication technologies (ICT) of 10 Queensland teachers,” Mr Dick said.

    “For the first time this year, two technical support staff were also recognised for providing exceptional ICT support services to Queensland classrooms.

    “The efforts of teachers and support staff were recognised with $5000 in professional development grants.

    “The number and quality of nominations this year highlights the heights of innovation being scaled in Queensland’s state schools.”

    Mr Dick said improved access to eLearning opportunities and initiatives such as the Smart Classroom Awards were inspiring teachers to develop innovative digital teaching and learning practices.

    “The Bligh Government’s investment in Smart Classrooms is helping state schools become world leaders in utilising ICT for teaching and learning,” he said.

    “The 2011-12 State Budget has allocated over $100 million towards delivering a range of Smart Classrooms initiatives to improve student, teacher and parent access to digital learning materials.

    “This is about ensuring Queensland classrooms are on the cutting edge of technology.”

    The Smart Classrooom Award winners were announced at twin ceremonies on the Gold Coast and in Townsville. Both ceremonies linked up digitally.

    “The awards for Customer Service Excellence for the first time recognises and demonstrates the importance of the role of technical support staff in Queensland classrooms,” he said.

    Industry sponsors for the 2011 Smart Classrooms Awards were Acer, Bizfurn, CITEC, Data#3, Hewlett Packard, Intel, MelbourneIT, Microsoft, Oakton, Teamboard Unify and Videopro.

    A complete list of winners follows:

    2011 Smart Classrooms Awards for Teachers:

    Ashley Proud, McDowall State School:
    Rose Marszalek, Peregian Springs State School
    Sharon Baker, Hambledon State School
    Chris Gauthier, Cleveland District State High School
    Hazel Orr, Narangba Valley State School
    Judith Hinton, Frenchville State School
    Lisa Noonan, Sandy Straits State School
    Kristie Blakeney, Hambledon State School
    Tammy Duncalfe, Bracken Ridge State High School
    Tony McCormack, Charleville State High School

    Smart Classrooms Awards for Customer Service Excellence:

    Darrell Collins – Systems Technician, Cairns Office, Far North Queensland
    Matthew MacGregor – Technical Officer, Highland Reserve State School and Coomera Rivers State School

    2011 Smart Classrooms Awards for Teachers - Highly commended:

    Anita Bingham, Robertson State School
    Lisa Brosnan, Glenvale State School
    Glen Bruce, Seven Hills State School
    Brad Coey-Braddon, Hermit Park State School
    Eric Flamank, Maleny State School
    Sharon Furlong, Melany State School
    Rohan Hardy, Kedron State High School
    Teresa Hogan, Warril View State School
    Lisa Mackenzie, Clover Hill State School
    Stuart Mackenzie, Worongary State School
    Erin McCrea, Hervey Bay State School
    Liz Puller, Sunbury State School
    Denise Scherer, Clinton State School
    Bianca Smith, Coomera Springs State School

    Media contact: Minister for Education and Industrial Relations 3237 1000