Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Minister for Main Roads
    The Honourable Craig Wallace

    Exit numbering system expanded on the Bruce Highway

    Minister for Main Roads
    The Honourable Craig Wallace

    Wednesday, February 09, 2011

    Exit numbering system expanded on the Bruce Highway

    Thirteen new exit numbers will be installed along the Bruce Highway to make it easier for drivers to find their way to Caboolture and the Sunshine Coast.

    Main Roads Minister Craig Wallace said work had started at the 13 major interchanges, which would be numbered according to their distance from the New South Wales and Queensland border via the Gateway and Pacific Motorways.

    “Each exit between Caboolture and Cooroy will have a unique number motorists can identify, making finding the right exit a lot easier,” Mr Wallace said.

    “Because it’s distance rather than a sequential numbering system, it means we can simply add new numbers when we build more interchanges without having to change existing exit numbers.

    “It is a handy way for travellers to calculate the distance of their journeys.”

    Mr Wallace said the number system was introduced on the Gold Coast a few years ago and had proven to be highly successful.

    “We have received positive feedback from Gold Coast business owners saying their customers find it simpler to indentify numbers instead of names,” he said.

    “We encourage the Sunshine Coast and Moreton business communities to embrace the new system by quoting the exit numbers when giving directions and promoting their businesses.”

    The new exit numbers, with a total project cost of $450,000, will be included in future editions of street directories, touring maps, and navigational equipment.

    Exit numbers and roads include:

    Exit number from the Bruce Highway / Road name
    Exit 157 - Pumicestone Road
    Exit 163 - Steve Irwin Way
    Exit 171 - Johnston Road
    Exit 188 - Steve Irwin Way / Caloundra Road
    Exit 190 - Frizzo Road / Pignata Road
    Exit 194 - Sunshine Motorway
    Exit 200 - Chevallum Road / Mons Road
    Exit 201 - Nambour Connection Road/ Maroochydore Road
    Exit 208 - Nambour - Bli Bli Road
    Exit 210 - Nambour Connection Road
    Exit 215 - Yandina - Coolum Road
    Exit 224 - Eumundi - Noosa Road / Eumundi- Kenilworth Road
    Exit 230 - Cooroy Connection Road

    Media contact: Minister’s office 3896 3691