Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Treasurer and Minister for Employment and Economic Development
    The Honourable Andrew Fraser

    Appointments strengthen GOC sector

    Treasurer and Minister for Employment and Economic Development
    The Honourable Andrew Fraser

    Friday, September 25, 2009

    Appointments strengthen GOC sector

    Queensland’s State Government owned corporations (GOCs) will inherit a wealth of industry know-how thanks to a string of new board appointments across the sector.

    Treasurer Andrew Fraser, in Zurich as part of Queensland Treasury Corporation's annual investor roadshow, today announced that the government had approved 14 new additions to seven GOCs and two advisory boards.

    “These appointments will inject new talent onto the boards of our GOCs, and with that will come new capabilities and a new dynamic” Mr Fraser said.

    “The different backgrounds of our appointees, as well as the cross-section of skills and acumen they will bring, will aptly complement the knowledge and experience of our current board members.”

    Mr Fraser said KPMG Queensland Chairman Phil Hennessy would become Chairman of SEQWater.

    “Mr Hennessy has recently served as Chairman of SunWater, the State owned water business,” he said.

    “His wide-ranging industry knowledge and strong leadership mean he will make a significant contribution to SEQWater."

    Mr Hennessy’s appointment follows the decision by Annabelle Chaplain to step down from 1 October.

    “Annabelle Chaplain chaired the SEQ Water Board in its former structure and following the water restructuring program has led the board and the organisation through the transition period.

    “I want to acknowledge Annabelle’s commitment to the organisation and thank her for her service.”

    Leith Boully has also been appointed to the SEQWater Board, filling an existing vacancy.

    “Ms Boully is currently on the board of Murrumbidgee Irrigation, a former New South Wales GOC, and has served on several advisory councils in the agriculture, water and conservation sectors.”

    Scott Spencer will become the new Chairman of SunWater.

    “Mr Spencer is a current member of the CSIRO Water for a Healthy Country Advisory Council, and has previously chaired the National Resource Management Policy and Programs Committee and served as Director General of the Department of Natural Resources and Water,” Mr Fraser said.

    Former BHP chief John Prescott AC has been re-appointed as Chairman of QR, and is joined on the board by former Agforce head Peter Kenny and former Brisbane City Council Chair of Transport, Maureen Hayes.
    “Peter Kenny’s knowledge of regional and rural Queensland will be invaluable to QR, while Maureen Hayes will strengthen the board’s passenger transport focus given her former stewardship of public transport in Brisbane City Council.

    “I thank both former Monto Mayor Warren McLachlan and Susan Rix, who have both decided to step down, for their service on the QR Board. Susan was appointed earlier this year to the board of the Port of Brisbane Corporation in anticipation of her term on QR’s Board expiring.

    “Well known businessman Peter Holmes a Court has also been re-appointed for another term.

    In the energy sector both Stephen Lonie and Dennis Byrne have been re-appointed as the Chairs of CS Energy and Stanwell Corporation respectively.

    Ken Howard and Walter Threlfall (Powerlink), Robert Henricks (CS Energy), Laurence Gillespie (Stanwell) and John Pegler (Tarong) have all been re-appointed as board members.

    Martine Pop, a former director of Western Australian Electricity Generation Corporation Verve Energy, will join the ranks of CS Energy .

    “Ms Pop has an impressive resume and her appointment to the CS Energy Board is a coup for Queensland”, Mr Fraser said.

    Ms Pop takes the place of Julie Leaver, who has been appointed to the board of Stanwell Corporation.

    Also at Stanwell, Clifton Hefner - an engineer with strong experience in project management and in the resources sector, and Tony Andersen - a former General Manager and acting Chief Executive Officer at CS Energy, join the board.

    Former Chief Finance Officer and acting Chief Executive Officer of Stanwell Gary Humphrys joins the Ergon Energy Board to fill an existing vacancy.

    Mr Fraser also announced that former State Member for Cunningham Stuart Copeland will join the Powerlink Board.

    “Before serving in the Parliament Stuart Copeland worked in diverse roles in the resources and energy sector and I am pleased to be able to secure his continuing services for the benefit of Queensland,” Mr Fraser said.

    Mr Fraser said the Government has taken the opportunity to effect a number of transfers and new appointments in the energy sector to refresh and strengthen the boards.

    “I thank former board members of Stanwell Corporation Energy, Barry Kelly and David Watson and also John Goddard for his service on Powerlink.”

    With the conclusion of his term on Stanwell Corporation Mr Fraser said Dr Watson would now be available for other appointments.

    “David Watson brings his professional experience and his knowledge of government to the table and the Government is keen to retain his services into the future.”

    “The appointments being announced today bring considerable experience and depth to the boards of our energy sector corporations.”

    Port of Brisbane Corporation Chairman David Harrison has been re-appointed as have current board members Edwin Brown AC and Bill Guest.

    “I also thank Peter Low OAM for his service on the Port of Brisbane Board."

    Mr Fraser said the government had taken the opportunity to reduce the size of the board by not filling an existing vacancy and not replacing Mr Low, who decided to step down at the expiry of his term.

    Melissa Griffth has been re-appointed to the Port of Townsville Corporation Board and will be joined by Townsville businessman Rabieh Krayem, who fills an existing vacancy.

    “Mr Krayem’s local knowledge and diverse business background, which includes stints as Chief Executive Officer of IPA Personnel, CEO of the North Queensland Cowboys, and General Manager of CHR Red, mean he is well placed to serve the Port which plays a pivotal role in the Townsville regional economy,” Mr Fraser said.

    Glen Toll, a current board member for the Port of Brisbane, will join the Gladstone Ports Corporation with the government’s decision to transfer management of the Port of Bundaberg from the Port of Brisbane Corporation.

    “Mr Toll will provide valuable experience to the board, having previously served on the board of the Bundaberg Port.”

    Mr Toll joins Peter Corones AM and Tony Kelly, who have both been re-appointed to the board of Gladstone Ports Corporation.

    Mr Fraser also said former Treasury officer and Partner at BDO Kendalls chartered accountant Robert Shead had been appointed to Chair Forestry Plantations Queensland, which is intended for sale during the next 12 months.

    Former QR Chair, Bronwyn Morris, has been re-appointed to the QIC Board, and Joan Sheldon AM, Warwick Marler and Prof Ian Lowe AO have been re-appointed to the Forestry Plantations Queensland Board.

    The appointments take effect on 1 October.

    Media contact: Treasurer’s office — 3224 6361 or 3224 4551