Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Premier and Minister for the Arts
    The Honourable Anna Bligh

    Tuesday, September 08, 2009

    Literary talent rewarded on a national scale

    Premier and Minister for the Arts
    The Honourable Anna Bligh

    Tuesday, September 08, 2009

    Literary talent rewarded on a national scale


    Australians writing about the exploitation of women by rugby league stars, rabbit plagues, our colonial days, the death of an Aboriginal man in police custody and Stella Miles Franklin are among the winners of the 2009 Queensland Premier’s Literary Awards.

    Richard Flanagan took out the top prize of $25 000 for his fiction novel Wanting, and unpublished Indigenous writer Nicole Watson won $15 000 and a potential publishing contract for her manuscript The Boundary.

    “These awards make an important contribution in supporting our arts industry. They support outstanding writers by recognising their works, extending readership and advancing literary careers,” said Premier Anna Bligh.

    “I am absolutely overwhelmed by the artistic talent honoured in this year’s awards. There is something for everyone to indulge in.

    “It is also great to see the hard work of our writers being celebrated and recognised in these awards and also at the Brisbane Writers Festival being held this week.”

    The 2009 Queensland Premier’s Literary Award winners will be showcased at a special event at the Brisbane Writers Festival on Thursday 10 September from 3pm - 4pm on the State Library’s Queensland Terrace.

    For more information visit

    Media contact: 3224 4500

    2009 Queensland Premier’s Literary Awards Winners

    Fiction Book Award

    -Wanting by Richard Flanagan
    Random House Australia (KNOPF)

    Non-Fiction Book Award

    -The Tall Man: Death and Life on Palm Island by Chloe Hooper
    Penguin Group (Australia)

    Unpublished Indigenous Writer – Arts Queensland David Unaipon Award

    -The Boundary by Nicole Watson

    Film Script – Pacific Film and Television Commission Award

    -Mary and Max by Adam Elliot
    Melodrama Pictures Pty Ltd

    Television Script – QUT Creative Industries Award

    -False Witness by Peter Gawler
    Screentime Pty Ltd

    Drama Script (Stage) Award

    -Realism by Paul Galloway
    Currency Press

    Poetry Collection – Arts Queensland Judith Wright Calanthe Award

    -The Striped World by Emma Jones
    Faber and Faber

    Australian Short Story Collection – Arts Queensland Steele Rudd Award

    -The Boat by Nam Le
    Penguin Group (Australia)

    Children’s Book – Mary Ryan’s Award

    -Little Blue by Gaye Chapman
    Little Hare Books

    Young Adult Book Award

    -A Small Free Kiss in the Dark by Glenda Millard
    Allen & Unwin

    Science Writer Award

    -Pasteur’s Gambit: Louis Pasteur, The Australasian Rabbit Plague and a Ten Million Dollar Prize by Stephen Dando-Collins
    Random House Australia (Vintage)

    History Book – Faculty of Arts, University of Queensland Award

    -Stella Miles Franklin by Jill Roe
    HarperCollins Publishers Australia

    Literary or Media Work Advancing Public Debate – The Harry Williams Award

    -Code of Silence by Sarah Ferguson
    ABC Four Corners