Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    The Honourable Anna Bligh

    Premier announces new Bligh Ministry portfolio responsibilities

    The Honourable Anna Bligh

    Tuesday, March 24, 2009

    Premier announces new Bligh Ministry portfolio responsibilities

    Premier Anna Bligh has today finalised her revamped, hand-picked Ministry, assigning portfolio responsibilities for the Cabinet which includes eight new Ministers.

    Ms Bligh said the new Cabinet reflected her commitment to renewal across government.

    "I pledged to Queensland that there would be significant renewal across the Ministry and today I have delivered that renewal," Ms Bligh said.

    "It’s a mix of experience and new blood and reflects a government that is hungry for change and hungry to get on with the job and deliver for Queensland.

    "The returning Ministers are the most experienced in government and the new faces are among the most talented people from the back bench.

    "Today I have finalised matching both these new and experienced Ministers with appropriate portfolios and have also delivered a clear message – now is the time to jump straight in and get on with the job.

    "Queenslanders have given us a clear mandate to do just that and to improve our performance as a government and I have been extremely clear in delivering that message to my Ministry."

    Bligh Government

    Anna Bligh – Premier, Minister for the Arts

    Paul Lucas – Deputy Premier and Minister for Health

    Andrew Fraser – Treasurer and Minister for Employment and Economic Development

    Robert Schwarten – Minister for Public Works and Information and Communication Technology

    Stephen Robertson – Minister for Natural Resources, Mines and Energy and Minister for Trade

    Geoff Wilson – Minister for Education and Training

    Neil Roberts – Minister for Police, Corrective Services and Emergency Services

    Tim Mulherin – Minister for Primary Industries, Fisheries and Rural and Regional Queensland

    Craig Wallace – Minister for Main Roads

    Desley Boyle – Minister for Local Government and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island Partnerships

    Stirling Hinchliffe – Minister for Infrastructure and Planning

    Rachel Nolan – Minister for Transport

    Cameron Dick – Attorney-General and Minister for Industrial Relations

    Karen Struthers – Minister for Community Services and Housing and Minister for Women

    Kate Jones – Minister for Climate Change and Sustainability

    Annastacia Palaszczuk – Minister for Disability Services and Multicultural Affairs

    Peter Lawlor – Minister for Tourism and Fair Trading

    Phil Reeves – Minister for Child Safety and Minister for Sport