Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Minister for Education and Training and Minister for the Arts
    The Honourable Rod Welford


    Minister for Education and Training and Minister for the Arts
    The Honourable Rod Welford

    Wednesday, August 22, 2007


    Queensland’s top science students, teachers, schools and organisations were today presented with more than $143,000 in awards as part of the Peter Doherty Awards for Excellence in Science and Science Education.

    Education and Training Minister Rod Welford said the awards aimed to foster the growth of science and science education as well as promote science as a viable and interesting career option.

    “These awards are a great pat on the back for students, teachers, research institutions, universities, industry and businesses who have made outstanding and innovative contributions to science education in Queensland,” Mr Welford said.

    “The awards are named in honour of leading Queensland scientist and Nobel Laureate Professor Peter Doherty, and are about rewarding science high achievers and giving them an incentive to further their studies in science or strengthen their science education programs.

    “The standard of projects this year was extremely high and recipients should be very proud of their achievements.

    “Competition was particularly strong in the Outstanding Senior Science Student category with two additional awards being made due to the high quality of nominations.”

    Mr Welford said the Peter Doherty Awards program was a key component of the State Government’s Science Education Strategy 2006-2009. It aims to build Queensland’s scientific base by increasing the number of students studying science and attracting skilled science teachers to the classroom.

    “As the Smart State, it is important for us to continue to boost scientific literacy across Queensland,” Mr Welford said.

    “Our Government is determined to encourage more young people to pursue careers in science as well as improve the quality of science education in our classrooms.

    “An awards program like this is a great way of raising the profile of science education and nurturing tomorrow’s science leaders.”

    A panel of working Queensland scientists and science educators selected the recipients.

    Professor Doherty, together with his Swiss colleague Rolf Zinkernagel, was awarded the Nobel Prize for Physiology and Medicine in 1996 for discovering the nature of cellular immune defence. He was named Australian of the Year in 1997.

    Media contact: Marnie Stitz or Emma Clarey on 3237 1000

    2007 Peter Doherty Awards for Excellence in Science and Science Education

    Peter Doherty Outstanding Senior Science Student Award recipients
    Liam Nolan, Marist College Ashgrove
    Philip Chan, Brisbane State High School
    Mikaela Shorter, Isis District State High School
    Harry Jamieson, Isis District State High School
    Katelin Haynes, West Moreton Anglican College
    Sasha Laws-King, The Kooralbyn International School
    Sujan Sivapalan, Brisbane Boys’ College
    Julie Kayes, Emmaus College
    Nicola Campbell, Caloundra State High School
    Lana Shaw, Miami State High School
    Alexander Rogan, Toowoomba Grammar School
    Melissa Young, Mountain Creek State High School

    Undergraduate Science Teacher Award recipients
    John McKenzie, Central Queensland University Bundaberg Campus
    Shontelle Lewis, Central Queensland University Bundaberg Campus
    Natalie Schimpf, University of Queensland
    Rebecca Taylor, Central Queensland University Bundaberg Campus
    Shonel Messer, University of Queensland

    Outstanding Primary and Middle Phase of Teachers of Science Award recipients
    Emelie Gabbert, Gin Gin State High School
    David Romagnolo, Woree State High School
    Pauline Dunn, Toolooa State High School
    Cheryl Capra, Albany Hills State School
    Julia Whittaker, Holland Park State School
    Karen Gosney, Kelvin Grove State College
    Ross Bailey, Browns Plains State High School
    Lee Reushle, Crows Nest State School
    Megan Ganter, Fig Tree Pocket State School, Milton State School, University of Queensland
    Megan McNamara, Chelona State Primary School

    Teacher International Professional Development Award recipients
    Alison Pound, Wavell State High School
    Gary Turner, Maroochydore State High School
    Shane Ross, Aviation High

    Scientific Laboratory Assistant Professional Development Award recipients
    Robyn Hohenhaus, Fairholme College
    Maryanne Simpson, Woree State High School

    Science Success Schools Award recipients
    Milton State School - Lisa Morrison
    Crows Nest State School - Lee Reushle
    Mt Gravatt State High School - Brooke Overduin
    Downlands Sacred Heart College - Barbara Weller
    Mansfield State High School - Patricia Bairstow

    Industry/Business/Research Institution Science Education Award recipients
    Damien Kee, Domabotics
    Christine Robertson, Enertrade

    Outstanding Tertiary Science Education Institution Award recipient
    Doreen Awabdy, representing the University of Queensland Schools Outreach, Faculty of Biological and Chemical Sciences, the University of Queensland