Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Premier and Minister for Trade
    The Honourable Peter Beattie
    Minister for Education and Training and Minister for the Arts
    The Honourable Rod Welford



    Premier and Minister for Trade
    The Honourable Peter Beattie

    Minister for Education and Training and Minister for the Arts
    The Honourable Rod Welford

    Thursday, August 16, 2007


    The shortlist for the 2007 Premier’s Queensland Literary Awards is a fascinating mix of proven masters, emerging writers and great thinkers Premier Peter Beattie said today.

    “Once again the judges are faced with some incredibly difficult choices as they try to select winners for the 14 award categories. I don’t envy them,” Mr Beattie said.

    “The shortlist for the Fiction Book Award shows just how tough the judges job will be.

    “I’m not sure how they will they separate the work of literary legends David Malouf (Every Move You Make), and Professor Janette Turner Hospital (Orpheus Lost) from the immensely talented Andrew McGahan (Underground) and Alexis Wright (Carpentaria).

    “It is a similar story in almost every category.”

    Mr Beattie said the shortlisted writers represented the depth of literary talent in Australia and the high calibre of work that is being produced across a range of literary endeavours.

    “The Queensland Premier’s Literary Awards nurture the writing craft and ensure literary talent in Australia is recognised, rewarded and celebrated,” Mr Beattie said.

    “Writing plays a fundamental role in our everyday life, whether it be through an entertaining dialogue at a film, a nail-biting novel, or the night-time story you read your children.

    “I congratulate the shortlisted writers and look forward to announcing the winners in September.”

    The Queensland Premier’s Literary Awards are among the most lucrative national literary awards programs in Australia. Winners will receive a share in $225,000 in prize money.

    Representing the Premier, Arts Minister Rod Welford announced the shortlist at Dymocks bookstore in Brisbane city today.

    “The Premier’s Literary Awards offer all established and aspiring Australian authors the opportunity to gain recognition in the literary community and provide financial assistance to support the development of high-quality writing,” Mr Welford said.

    Mr Welford also launched the debut novel of Queensland writer Karen Foxlee, who won last year’s Emerging Queensland Author Award. Her novel, The Anatomy of Wings, is set in an Australian mining town and tells the story of family, grief and growing up.

    This year’s shortlisted writers and their works are listed on the following pages.

    For more information visit or phone (07) 3405 5215.

    MEDIA CONTACT: Premier’s Office – 3224 4500
    Minister’s Office – 3237 1000


    Unpublished Indigenous Writer – The David Unaipon Award

    Elizabeth Eileen Hodgson for Skin Paintings

    Jeanine Leane for Dark Secrets and Solid Wisdom

    Lorraine McGee-Sippel for Toots

    Nicole Louise Watson for Return of the Clever Man

    Poetry Collection – Arts Queensland Judith Wright Calanthe Award

    Robert Adamson for The Goldfinches of Baghdad (Flood Editions)

    Dr Laurie Duggan for The Passenger (University of Queensland Press)

    Emeritus Professor Tom Shapcott for City of Empty Rooms (Salt Publishing)

    Petra White for The Incoming Tide (John Leonard Press)

    Australian Short Story Collection – Arts Queensland Steele Rudd Award
    Cate Kennedy for Dark Roots (Scribe)

    Margo Lanagan for Red Spikes (Allen & Unwin)

    David Malouf for Every Move You Make (Random House UK)

    Ryan O’Neill for A Famine in Newcastle (Ginninderra Press)

    Film Script – Pacific Film and Television Commission Award Joel Anderson for
    Lake Mungo (Mungo Productions Pty Ltd)

    Shayne Armstrong, Shane P Krause and John Hewitt for Acolytes (Stewart & Wall Entertainment)

    Brendan Cowell and Anthony Hayes for Ten Empty (Yeah Right Pty Ltd)

    Peter Duncan for Unfinished Sky (New Holland Productions)

    Chris Thompson for The Tumbler (Mondayitis / Ztudio)

    Television Script – QUT Creative Industries Award Michelle Offen for East West 101 Episode 5 “Haunted by the Past” (Knapman Wyld Television)

    Fiona Seres for Episode 8 “Dangerous” (Southern Star Entertainment)

    Sue Smith for Bastard Boys (Flying Cabbage Productions)

    Keith Thompson for Lockie Leonard Human Torpedo:
    Episode 26 “Joy to the World” (RB Films)

    Non-Fiction Book Award

    Professor Tom Griffiths for Slicing the Silence: Voyaging to Antarctica
    (New South / UNSW Press)

    Robert Hughes for Things I Didn’t Know (Random House Australia)

    Chris Masters for Jonestown (Allen & Unwin)

    Science Writer – Department of State Development Award

    Dr Stephen Juan for The Odd Body 3 (HarperCollins Publishers Australia)

    Mike Morwood and Penny Van Oosterzee for
    The Discovery of the Hobbit (Random House Australia)

    Peter Martin for
    Killing Us Softly – Australia’s Green Stalkers (CRC for Australian Weed Management)

    Dr Richard Smith for Crude (ABC Television)

    History Book Award Christopher Clark for Iron Kingdom (Allen Lane, Penguin Books)

    Ken Inglis for
    Whose ABC? The Australian Broadcasting Commission 1983-2006 (Blake Inc)

    Dr Philip Jones for
    Ochre and Rust: Artefacts and Encounters on Australian Frontiers
    (Wakefield Press Pty Ltd)

    Literary or Media Work Advancing Public Debate –
    The Harry Williams Award
    Professor Frank Brennan for Acting on Conscience: How can we responsibly mix law religion and politics (University of Queensland Press)

    Richard Flanagan for Gunns - Out of Control (The Monthly)

    Jonathan Holmes for What Price Global Warming - Earth, Wind Fire (4 Corners ABC Television)

    Chris Masters for Jonestown
    (Allen & Unwin)

    Noel Pearson for Whiteguilt, Victimhood and the Quest for a Radical Centre
    (Griffith University and ABC Books)

    Children’s Book- The Dymocks Literacy Foundation Catherine Bateson for
    Being Bee (University of Queensland Press)

    Pat Flynn for The Tuckshop Kid (University of Queensland Press)

    Glenda Millard and Dr Gaye Chapman for Kaito’s Cloth (Scholastic Australia)

    Glenda Millard for Layla Queen of Hearts (ABC Books)

    Young Adult Book Award Judith Clarke for One Whole and Perfect Day (Allen & Unwin)

    Melina Marchetta for On the Jellicoe Road (Penguin Group Australia)

    David Metzenthen for Black Water (Penguin Group Australia)

    Shaun Tan for The Arrival (Hachette Livre Australia)

    Drama Script (Stage) Award Stephen Carleton for Constance Drinkwater and the Final Days of Somerset (Queensland Theatre Company)

    Stephen Carleton for The Narcissist (La Boite Theatre Company)

    Campion Decent for Embers
    (HotHouse Theatre and Sydney Theatre Company)

    Kit Lazaroo for Asylum (La Mama Theatre)

    Tommy Murphy for Holding the Man (Griffin Theatre Company and Sydney Opera House)

    Fiction Book Award David Malouf for Every Move You Make (Random House UK)

    Andrew McGahan for Underground (Allen & Unwin)

    Professor Janette Turner Hospital for Orpheus Lost (HarperCollins Publishers Australia)

    Alexis Wright for Carpentaria (Giramondo Publishing)

    Emerging Queensland Author – Manuscript Award Ian Commins for Life in the Bus Lane

    Krissy Kneen for Paper Dolls, Holding Hands

    Lee McGowan for Some Tartan Hyde