Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Minister for Education and Minister for Industrial Relations
    The Honourable Grace Grace

    Friday, August 09, 2019

    Queensland education STEM awards attract record entries

    Minister for Education and Minister for Industrial Relations
    The Honourable Grace Grace

    Friday, August 09, 2019

    Queensland education STEM awards attract record entries

    Education Minister Grace Grace today announced the winners of the 2019 Peter Doherty Awards for Excellence in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Education.

    Ms Grace presented awards to 25 successful nominees across six categories in Brisbane.

    “This year a record 189 applications were received across the state for our Peter Doherty Awards, which is significantly higher than our previous record of 150 applications,” Ms Grace said.

    “Among our applicants were 22 members of the 2017 Girl Power Camp alumni, which makes me especially pleased and confident that our STEM education initiatives are achieving success.

    “This year we are celebrating 16 years of the Peter Doherty Awards, which recognise students, teachers, schools, volunteers, mentors and organisations who demonstrate an outstanding and innovative contribution to STEM education in Queensland.”

    Ms Grace said the Palaszczuk Government’s strategy to strengthen STEM education in Queensland includes building teacher capability; lifting student achievement; and increasing student participation in STEM.

    “The number of jobs in STEM fields is growing at more than twice the rate of other industries and occupations,” she said.

    “That’s why we are committed to encouraging more students to engage in STEM, to prepare them for the jobs of the future.

    “Under the Advancing STEM in Queensland State Primary Schools Initiative, we are investing $81.3 million over four years for primary schools to develop and enhance students’ learning in STEM subjects.

    “I am also pleased to say that all Queensland state school students have access to a library of 16 humanoid robots, through our $660,000 Robotics for the Future initiative.

    “Other Government STEM initiatives include our annual Premier’s Coding Challenge; STEM Girl Power Initiative; $480,000 in scholarships for teachers in rural and remote areas; and virtual STEM academies that engage and challenge our best and brightest students.

    “We also maintain the STEM hub website for parents and students; and operate the Queensland Coding Academy with resources for teachers and students.”

    Ms Grace thanked students, parents, teachers, principals and organisations who continue to work together to promote and encourage STEM education in state and non-state schools across Queensland.

    The awards are named after Professor Peter Doherty, a Brisbane-born Nobel Prize winning scientist and former student of Indooroopilly State High School.

    Media contact: Scott Chandler – 0439 578 472


    2019 Peter Doherty successful applicants list

    Outstanding Senior STEM Student Awards — 12 winners

    • Mia Forsingdal, Cannon Hill Anglican College
    • Chelsea Cameron, Bray Park State High School
    • Esandi Kalugalage, Brisbane State High School
    • Ryan Beerling Dolovac, Southport State High School
    • Keziah Mitchell, Gin Gin State High School
    • Amy York, St John's School (Roma)
    • Kate McCullough, Blackheath and Thornburgh College (Charters Towers)      
    • Marissa Ellis, Trinity Bay State High School
    • Atticus Plath, Tannum Sands State High School
    • Hayden Bellingham, Clifton State High School
    • Nikolas Edsen, Atherton State High School
    • Samuel Rieger, St Andrew's Anglican College (Peregian Springs)        

     Outstanding Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Senior STEM Student Awards — 4 winners

    • Holly Summers, Pacific Pines State High School
    • Annaleise Krause, Wilsonton State High School
    • Trinity Saxby, Moura State High School
    • Ethan Briggs, Beaudesert State High School

     Outstanding Teacher of STEM Awards — 5 winners

    • Daniel Ricardo, Merrimac State High School
    • Marsha Spiker, Ithaca Creek State School
    • Terry Grimberg, Forest Lake State High School
    • Sandy Neisler, Peregian Springs State School
    • Samantha Owczarek, Charleville School of Distance Education

     Outstanding STEM Support Officer Awards — 2 winners

    • Christine Kearns, Redcliffe State High School
    • Annette Gregory, Ignatius Park College (Townsville)

     Outstanding School STEM Award

    • William Ross State High School

     STEM Education Partnership Award

    • STEM Horizons for high achievers, a partnership of Moreton Bay, Toohey Forest and Brisbane Urban Environmental Education Centres