Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Minister for Police and Minister for Corrective Services
    The Honourable Mark Ryan

    45 new officers sworn into Service at Townsville graduation

    Minister for Police and Minister for Corrective Services
    The Honourable Mark Ryan

    Thursday, July 11, 2019

    45 new officers sworn into Service at Townsville graduation

    Minister for Police and Minister for Corrective Services, the Honourable Mark Ryan MP and Commissioner Katarina Carroll today welcomed 45 new police officers to the Queensland Police Service during an induction ceremony held at the QPS Academy, Townsville campus.

    Graduating as First Year Constables, the new officers have completed 25 weeks of intensive training, preparing them for their new roles serving the community.

    The recruit training program provides recruits with a high quality foundation so they can deliver an excellent level of service to the community and ensure their policing skills have developed to a level necessary for operational policing as First Year Constables under supervision.

    Townsville MP Scott Stewart, joined fellow local MPs Coralee O’Rourke and Aaron Harper in congratulating the new recruits.

    “It’s so important that we have our own Police Academy in the north of our state that produces such high calibre new police officers,” Mr Stewart said.

    Member for Mundingburra, Coralee O’Rourke said, “First Year Constables breathe new life into the Service with their unique experiences and enthusiasm.”

    Thuringowa MP Aaron Harper highlighted the vital role police play in all communities.

    “These new recruits will contribute to the Queensland Police Service’s unrelenting commitment to community safety,” Mr Harper said.

    Minister Ryan thanked the new recruits for embracing the opportunity to serve their fellow Queenslanders.

    “On behalf of the Queensland Government, I am grateful to the 45 FYCs who have accepted this responsibility today.

    “Each has sworn they will maintain integrity, professionalism and accountability when serving and protecting the people of Queensland. Queenslanders should feel confident these standards will be met.

    “They will help to create a safe environment for residents and visitors, working in partnership with their communities and other government agencies around Queensland.

    “I would like to acknowledge the education and support services provided by the QPS People Capability Command and wish the 45 FYCs good luck as they embark on their new careers tomorrow,” Minister Ryan said. 

    Commissioner Carroll congratulated the FYC’s on their graduation and announced they would commence their careers in the Central, Northern and Southern regions.

    With this being her first induction as Commissioner of the QPS, Commissioner Carroll reflected on her own graduation.

    “My memories from my own induction are some of my fondest and I know that tradition will continue as this morning’s ceremony becomes a watershed moment for these FYCs,” Commissioner Carroll said.

    “This job they have been sworn into today is unlike any other job and I thank them for taking on the responsibility of ensuring safety and security for Queenslanders.

    “I am sure they will, as we all have, experience challenging situations and times of triumph in their careers serving this great state.

    “I wish every officer all the very best and am confident they will uphold the values of a QPS officer.”

    The new FYCs will be initially deployed to the following areas:


    Mackay District

    Mackay Station 1

    Mackay Northern Beaches Station 2

    Bowen Station 1

    Proserpine Station 1


    Capricornia District

    Rockhampton Station 2

    North Rockhampton Station 2

    Emerald Station 2         




    Far North District

    Cairns Station 6

    Edmonton Station 3

    Gordonvale Station 1

    Smithfield Station 2

    Mossman Station 1

    Innisfail Station 2


    Townsville District

    Townsville Station 2

    Stuart Station 1

    Kirwan Station 3

    Mundingburra Station 1

    Deeragun Station 1

    Ayr Station 2

    Charters Towers Station 2

    Ingham Station 2


    Mount Isa District

    Mount Isa Station 4




    Moreton District

    Burpengary Station 1


    Media contacts 

    Minister Ryan’s Office: Ph: (07) 3035 8300

    Police Media: Ph: (07) 3015 2444