Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Premier and Minister for Trade
    The Honourable Annastacia Palaszczuk

    Twenty years of Queensland Greats

    Premier and Minister for Trade
    The Honourable Annastacia Palaszczuk

    Wednesday, October 30, 2019

    Twenty years of Queensland Greats

    Nominations are now open for the 2020 Queensland Greats Awards, with Queenslanders asked to help identify extraordinary people and organisations who have helped shape and enrich our State.

    Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk said the awards were celebrating their 20th anniversary of recognising remarkable Queenslanders who had strengthened the state and improved the lives of people living in towns and cities statewide, and even across the world.

    “Queensland continues to lead the nation across many industries and this is the time to recognise those who have committed to and made a lasting contribution to the history and development of the state,” the Premier said.

    “Over the past 20 years, the Queensland Greats Awards has recognised Queenslanders at the top of their game nationally and internationally in the fields of sport, the arts, science, philanthropy and business.

    “The list of Queensland Greats includes such illustrious names as Kay McGrath OAM (2019), Allan Border AO (2016), Deborah Mailman (2012), Professor Ian Frazer AC (2006), and the Queensland State Emergency Service (2011).

    “I am excited to see who joins this celebrated list when the next round of recipients are announced during a ceremony around Queensland Day, 6 June 2020.”

    Since the awards began in 2001, 95 individuals, 15 institutions, 5 posthumous and 1 honorary recipient have been recognised as Queensland Greats.

    As a lasting tribute, each Queensland Great is honoured with a commemorative plaque displayed at Roma Street Parkland, Brisbane.

    Nominations for the 2020 Queensland Greats Awards can be registered at until 5 pm, Friday 31 January 2020.

    For more information email or phone 07 3003 9200.


    Media Contact:                

    Zoe Russell – 0439 982 347