Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Minister for Fire and Emergency Services
    The Honourable Craig Crawford


    Minister for Fire and Emergency Services
    The Honourable Craig Crawford

    Wednesday, March 28, 2018


    Disaster assistance has been made available to the local government areas of Aurukun, Kowanyama, Mapoon, Napranum and Pormpuraaw, which were affected by Severe Tropical Cyclone Nora over the weekend.

    Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA).

    Minister for Law Enforcement and Cyber Security Angus Taylor, who has responsibility for Commonwealth disaster assistance, said that funding is being made available through the NDRRA to support response operations and repair flood damaged assets, including local roads.

    “Severe Tropical Cyclone Nora crossed the western coast of Cape York Peninsula over the weekend, bringing with it winds of over 150 km per hour and heavy rainfall that caused widespread damage to the communities of Far North Queensland,” Mr Taylor said.

    “There has been significant damage caused by fallen trees, landslips and widespread power outages.”

    “Assistance is available to communities that bore the brunt of this disaster to help them with their immediate emergency needs.”

    Speaking ahead of an inspection of Pormpuraaw and Kowanyama today, Queensland Minister for Fire and Emergency Services Craig Crawford said this assistance demonstrated the commitment of the Commonwealth and Queensland governments to ensure local governments get the assistance they need to recover.

    “Floodwaters and road closures have isolated remote communities and the storms have caused damage to residential properties and infrastructure,” Mr Crawford said.

    “We will continue to monitor the situation and will extend assistance under the NDRRA to other affected communities as required.”

    Anyone impacted by these events and seeking support is encouraged to contact the Queensland Community Recovery Hotline on 1800 173 349.

    Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at and the Queensland Government’s Disaster management website at


    Media Contacts: 0412 393 909 (Minister Crawford) Alicja Rudz 0481 907 178 (Minister Taylor).