Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Premier and Minister for Trade
    The Honourable Annastacia Palaszczuk

    21 Queenslanders honoured with Australian Bravery Awards - STRICTLY EMBARGOED UNTIL 00:01 AUSTRALIAN EASTERN DAYLIGHT TIME (AEDT), THURSDAY 29 MARCH 2018.

    Premier and Minister for Trade
    The Honourable Annastacia Palaszczuk

    Wednesday, March 28, 2018

    21 Queenslanders honoured with Australian Bravery Awards - STRICTLY EMBARGOED UNTIL 00:01 AUSTRALIAN EASTERN DAYLIGHT TIME (AEDT), THURSDAY 29 MARCH 2018.

    Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk has commended the 21 Queenslanders honoured with Australian Bravery Awards today for their inspiring courage and self-sacrifice in dangerous and dire circumstances.

    “With 6 Bravery Medals and 15 Commendations for Brave Conduct awarded to Queensland residents, all of Queensland should today pause to reflect on the actions of these incredible men and women,” the Premier said.

    “Several of those honoured sustained significant injury and even loss of life as they put the service of others before themselves and their brave acts should be committed to memory.”

    Among the Queenslanders to receive Bravery Medals are Acting Sergeant Scott Hill, Senior Constables Stephen Barlow and Catherine Nielsen, and Constable Brittany Poulton, who collectively came to the aide of their colleague, Senior Constable Brett Forte, after he was fatally shot by an armed offender in Ringwood on 29 May 2017.

    “Amidst continued gunfire, these courageous officers were able to ensure Senior Constable Forte was removed from his vehicle and began first aid in spite of the immediate danger,” the Premier said.

    “I’d like to pay special tribute to Senior Constable Forte, who has been posthumously honoured with a Commendation for Brave Conduct.

    “Though it remains a tragedy beyond words, the recognition bestowed upon Senior Constable Forte and his four colleagues today should be a source of pride for their family, friends, the Queensland Police Service and an eternally grateful community.”

    The late Norman Olsen has been honoured with a Bravery Medal after he pulled his car to the side of a Wilsonton road on the afternoon on 22 February 2016, swiftly intervening in the assault of a young woman.

    “By holding the attacker’s arm back, Mr Olsen allowed the woman and her two year old daughter to escape this horrendous act of violence,” Ms Palaszczuk said.

    “Mr Olsen, a Vietnam veteran, was then punched by the attacker and fell back onto the footpath, sadly dying as a result of the injuries he sustained.

    “As Mr Olsen’s daughter Katie has said, three lives were saved because of his actions that day – the mother and her toddler at the centre of the attack and the man who received Mr Olsen’s liver following his death.”

    Pilot Kevin Hughes, previously honoured with a Commendation for Brave Conduct in 2013, has this year received a Bravery Medal for his actions freeing a woman whose parachuting jumpsuit was caught mid-air against a plane in April 1993.

    “These moving stories serve to remind us that each and every day in Queensland we walk among people, both friends and strangers, who care for our wellbeing and seek to protect us from harm,” Ms Palaszczuk said.

    “Thanks to all of the remarkable Queenslanders honoured, we are a greater state, a safer state and I am pleased their selfless acts have been recognised today.”

    The Australian Bravery Decorations recognise acts of bravery by people who put themselves in jeopardy to protect the lives or property of others and nominations are considered twice annually by an independent advisory body.

    List of Queensland recipients:

    Bravery Medal (BM)

    (For acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances)

    Senior Constable Stephen Ian Barlow - Queensland Police Service

    Acting Sergeant Scott Ronald Hill - Queensland Police Service

    Mr Kevin James Hughes - Macleay Island, Queensland

    Senior Constable Catherine Maureen Nielsen - Queensland Police Service

    The late Mr Norman Linburgh Olsen - Queensland

    Constable Brittany Rosemarie Poulton - Queensland Police Service


    Commendation for Brave Conduct:

    (For acts of bravery considered worthy of recognition)

    Detective Senior Sergeant Cameron John Burke - Queensland Police Service

    Mrs Patricia Joan Comerford – Beerwah, Queensland

    Mr Robert John Cook – Bli Bli, Queensland

    Mr Karl Dunbar - Alexandra Headland, Queensland

    The late Senior Constable Brett Andrew Forte - Queensland Police Service

    Mr John Michael Head – Cairns, Queensland

    Mr Brian Frederick Lemke – Currimundi, Queensland

    Senior Constable Kevin John Mageean - Queensland Police Service

    Senior Constable Christopher Ralph Proudlock - Queensland Police Service

    Mr Nicholas Brett Rawlin – Currimundi, Queensland

    Mr Kenneth Lewis Rossiter - Golden Beach, Queensland

    Mr Lincoln Patrick Sherlock - Springfield Lakes, Queensland

    Mr Darren Craig Taylor – Kanimbla, Queensland

    Mr Ricky Paul Walker - Golden Beach, Queensland

    Mr Adam John Williams - Cabbage Tree Point, Queensland

    Media Contact: Shane Doherty 0439 624 473